Thursday, 2nd December 2021
Breaking News:

APC National Chairmanship: Stakeholders rally support for Musa

By Seye Olumide, South-West Bureau Chief
24 October 2021   |   4:09 am
The ward, local government and state congresses of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have come and gone with indication that governors in the party, who have been determining how the party functions after the sack of former...


The ward, local government and state congresses of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have come and gone with indication that governors in the party, who have been determining how the party functions after the sack of former National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole over a year ago, had upper hands in the various congresses.
Except in places where there were parallel congresses, most of the state governors were able to install their desired ward, local governments and state congress executives ahead of the next general polls. 
And now that the national convention is fast approaching, some stakeholders are of the opinion that there must be leverage for true internal democracy in the ruling party as a way of ensuring justice, fairness and equity.

On this ground, many groups and individuals have continued to clamour that the party’s new national chairman should be someone with a solid legislative experience, exposure and intelligence, who can understand the politics of ‘give and take’, negotiation and balancing contrary to the dictatorial tendencies synonymous with past executive office holders.
Some party members who spoke with The Guardian said it is right time to break away with the tradition of using ex-governors as national chairman of APC.
Taking a cursory look at the list of contenders for the national chairmanship job, not less than eight former governors have shown interest with just two who have not tasted executive power.
The list includes former governors’ of Nasarawa State, Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Tanko Al Makura. Borno State also has two on the list, former governors Ali Modu Sherrif and Senator Kashim Shettima. Former governor of Zamfara, Abdukaziz Yari, former governor of Benue, Senator George Akume, former Governor of Bauchi, Malam Isa Yuguda, former Governor of Gombe and Senator Danjuma Gone. Non-former governors on the list are Senator representing Niger State, Sani Musa and Alhaji Salihu Mustapha from Kwara State.
Although, the list is rich and the personalities have all it takes to oversee the affairs of the party, the contending issue is that whoever emerges among them would definitely determine who gets the party’s presidential ticket and from which zone such person comes from.
Taking a considerable look at the contestants, a Southwest pressure group, the Lisabi Progressives Union said Senator Sani Musa remains the best to lead the party.
The leadership of the group said it opted to support the ambition of the APC Niger East senator after a careful examination of the candidates, who have recently been linked for the position.
The group’s National President, Adeleke Lukman said as members of the progressives family, they welcome the party’s resolve to present the best candidates for the Presidency in 2023 and the national chairmanship position.

He noted further that it is the right time for the region to shun politics of bitterness and support a strong candidate that would bring good governance to the region and the nation.
Adeleke said the group had concluded plans to support Musa, who he described as “youth-friendly” and a “bridge-builder” across the region. 
In another expression of support for Senator Musa’s aspiration, a group, under the aegis of Arewa Women Assembly (AWA), described Musa, the incumbent chairman, Senate Services Committee, as the best person for the position. 
A statement by the Kaduna-based AWA, says Senator Musa should be supported to succeed the Chairman, Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), Governor Mala Buni of Yobe State because of his decent track records and exemplary politics without bitterness that the lawmaker has thus far exhibited.

According to a statement by AWA Chairperson, Hajiya Rukayya Sani, the group explained that Senator Musa “is one politician with great exposure to advance democratic culture with highly influential politicians as friends and associates across Northern and Southern Nigeria.