Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ayorinde takes over at Lagos culture & tourism ministry


Special Adviser to Governor on Arts & Culture, Mrs Aramide Giwamson, presenting a welcome card to the new commissioner, Steve Ayorinde.

Following his recent redeployment from the Ministry of Information & Strategy by the Lagos State Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, Steve Ayorinde has resumed as the Lagos Commissioner For Tourism, Arts and Culture, with promise to reposition the ministry for greater achievements.

In a statement on Tuesday by the Secretary to the State Government Tunji Bello, he said Ayorinde’s appointment comes because of major redeployment by Ambode.

According to him, the new appointments and redeployments are intended to create a new vigour and vitality for service delivery, which has been the hallmark of the Governor Ambode administration.


A major stakeholder in the culture sector, Ayorinde’s redeployment has been described by many as a round peg in a round hole due to his wealth of experience in the sector.

The newly appointed cabinet members include: Hakeem Fahm (Ministry of Science and Technology); Ladi Lawanson (Ministry of Transportation); Segun Banjo (Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget); Olayinka Oladunjoye (Ministry of Commerce and Industry) and Hakeem Sulaiman (Communities and Communications).

Rotimi Ogunleye from Commerce and Industry to Physical Planning and Urban Development; Steve Ayorinde from Ministry of Information and Strategy to Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Kehinde Bamigbetan from Communities and Communication to Ministry of Information and Strategy; Babatunde Durosinmi Etti from Ministry of Wealth Creation to Ministry of the Environment; Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf from Ministry of Youth and Social Development to Ministry of Wealth Creation; Agboola Dabiri from Central Business District to Ministry of Youth and Social Development.

Others include Samuel Adejare from Ministry of the Environment to Ministry of Waterfront Infrastructure Development; Ade Akinsanya from Ministry of Waterfront Infrastructure Development to Ministry of Works and Infrastructure.

In the same vein, the statement also added that Benjamin Olabinjo has been moved from Special Adviser Commerce and Industry to become Special Adviser Civic Engagement, while Kehinde Joseph moved from Special Adviser Civic Engagement to become Special Adviser Housing.

Deji Tinubu, Special Adviser Sports has been redeployed as Special Adviser to the Governor on Commerce and Industry and Anofiu Elegushi moves from Special Adviser Transport to become Special Adviser, Central Business District.

Three cabinet members affected by the change are: Adebimpe Akinsola, Femi Odubiyi and Anifowoshe Abiola.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet