The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

FG Warns Universities Governing Councils Against Embezzlement




The Federal Government, on Tuesday, warned the newly constituted governing councils in 12 universities against embezzlement of funds meant for development, evolution, and growth of the institutions.

This was made known by the Minister of Education, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau, while inaugurating the councils, on Tuesday, in Abuja. He also warned them against undue interference with the day-to-day running of the institutions.

Also inaugurated were four Federal Polytechnics and the Governing Board of National Library of Nigeria. According Shekarau, “The councils of institutions are constituted according to the extant laws establishing them.

“The councils so constituted at the pleasure of Mr president shall have four years tenure for the universities and three years tenure for the polytechnics, from the date of inauguration, provided the councils are not found wanting on issues of accountability, transparency and due process. However, a council can be dissolved by the visitor at any time.

“The councils shall exercise their powers in accordance with the laws and statutes establishing each university or Polytechnics. “Government constitutes governing councils of institutions for the purpose of governance, good management, growth and development. The councils will therefore, be free to discharge their functions and exercise their responsibilities accordingly”.

The council members should at all times and in consultation with management of these institutions, be abreast with current laws, government policies, white papers, circulars, gazettes, and other relevant documents to help them in decision making .

The 12 federal universities are: Federal University, Lokoja, Lafia, Kashere, Wukari, Dutsin-Ma, Dutse, Ndufu, Alike, Oye-Ekiti, Otuoke, Birnin-Kebbi, Gusau, and Federal University, Gashua.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet