Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

The Future Awards Africa… Toast to inspiring, young Nigerians of 2019


Adetola Onayemi, winner of The Future Awards Africa Prize for Public Service (second left) after receiving his award at the event

The Federal Palace Hotel, Victoria Island, Lagos, was the place to be last Saturday, November 24, as young people from all walks of life, as well as distinguished guests, converged for this year’s The Future Awards Africa (TFAA).

An initiative of The Future Project and RED | For Africa, the award celebrates inspiring, young Nigerians changing the African narratives and making impact through their initiative, skill and creativity, thereby raising responsible citizens with the desire to achieve more and create better communities.

Notable among distinguished guests at the well attended event are Rotimi Amaechi, the Minister of Transportation; Segun Osoba, the Former Governor of Ogun State; Jumoke Adenowo, the Special Adviser to the President on Ease of Business; and Shaffy Bello, actress and singer. Others at the event include Ade Ipaye, Deputy Chief of Staff to the Vice President; Juliet Ehimuan, Google Country Manager; Muhammadu Sani Abdullahi, Chief of Staff to the Kaduna State Governor; Lala Akindoju, actress and producer; Chioma ‘Chigul’ Omeruah, comedian; Omawumi and Waje, singer-songwriters.


Damini ‘Burna Boy’ Ogulu emerged the ‘Young Person of the Year’ at the event, having captivated the local and global audience with his signature sound and undeniable charisma. The category, which was endowed by premium malt drink, Amstel Malta, recognises a young person, who has become a force for change, capturing the collective imagination of all Nigerians through their personal achievements, public image, and personal triumphs.

Burna Boy cemented his place as this year’s breakaway music star with his 19-track album African Giant, garnering international awards and nominations, selling out venues globally, while also securing collaborations with renowned artists such as Angelique Kidjo, Damian Marley and Lily Allen.

The award, which was Burna Boy’s second of the night, having earlier won The Future Awards Africa Prize for Music, saw him edge out other outstanding Nigerians such as the speaker of the ninth Oyo State House of Assembly, Debo Ogundoyin; SDG advocate, Kenneth Udekwe; UFC middleweight champion, Israel Adesanya, and the #NigeriaMetooMovement, comprising Khadijah Adamu, Damilola Marcus, and Kiki Mordi. 

The singer expressed delight at the win via his Twitter handle, while thanking the organisers of the awards for “honouring hard work, diligence and resilience.”In what has been a superlative year in the career of the Ye crooner, the TFAA win would go a long way in cementing his place as the most successful music artiste in the year following previous wins at the 2019 edition of AFRIMA, the 13th Headies and a grammy nomination amongst others.
Other wins of the night include The Future Awards Africa Prize For Acting by Timini Egbuson (32), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Agriculture by Uka Eje (29), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Advocacy by Hamzat Lawal (32), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Arts (Visual & Applied) by
Ken Nwadiogbu (25), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Community Action by Isaac Success (28) and The Future Awards Africa Prize For Film-Making won by Dare Olaitan (28).

Others include The Future Awards Africa Prize For Literature, which went to Otosirieze Obi-Young (25), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Media
Samuel Ajiboye won by (28), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Professional Service by Bukky Akomolafe (31), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Oap (Visual & Audio) clinched by Simi Drey’adejumo (21), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Public Service by Adetola Onayemi (28), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Sports by Israel Adesanya (30) and The Future Awards Africa Prize For Education by Olaseni Cole (32).


Meanwhile, The Future Awards Africa Prize For Technology went to Zang Luka Bot (28), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Fashion went to Tuboboreni Sandrah (28), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Business went to Olawale Ayilara (31), The Future Awards Africa Prize For Journalism was clinched by
Shola Lawal (25), while The Future Awards Africa Prize For Photography went to Tolani Alli (27).

Themed Nigeria’s New Tribe, The Future Awards Africa celebrates young, inspiring nominees who are breaking boundaries across several industries, and changing the narrative through their talent, innovation, entrepreneurship, and community advocacy.Described as the “Most important awards for outstanding young Africans” by Forbes, TFAA is a set of prizes given annually to celebrate and accelerate innovation, creativity and enterprise amongst young Africans aged 18 – 31. It has produced over 150 winners and over 1550 nominees since its first edition in 2006. It is presented in conjunction with The Future Project, which has a mandate to build empowered citizens across Africa, through (inclusive) enterprise and (active) citizenship.

This focus on Human Capital Development is informed by our value proposition: Africa’s growth needs a generation of young people, who are gainfully employed and able to demand and secure better leadership. Other projects include, an employability portal presented with Microsoft; the Nigeria Symposium for Young & Emerging Leaders, #StartupsAfrica, Intern4Jobs, presented with National Endowment for Democracy (NED) and The Future Enterprise Support Scheme.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet