Thursday, 8th June 2023

The Future Awards Africa unveils 2020 jury

By Maria Diamond
13 June 2020   |   4:03 am
Africa’s most prestigious youth awards, The Future Awards Africa, has announced its jury.

Africa’s most prestigious youth awards, The Future Awards Africa, has announced its jury.

Now in its 15th year, the historically relevant award, known for discovering, spotlighting, and recognising young African talents, has assembled an impressive list of personalities, social activists, creatives, human rights advocates policy-movers, pioneers, culture-shapers, and leaders in their respective industry to make up the Independent Audit Committee (IAC) and the Jury (Judges) across Africa.

Aside from occupying important levels of cultural relevance, the members of the Independent Audit Committee Africa all come from the different nations that make up the African continent.

This is a conscious step on the part of the award organisers and a long held vision to make the award more inclusive of people from all parts of the African continent. The IAC judging is the first stage of the judging process after the nominations list has been released to the public. The committee, using a score grid and set criteria to screen the nominees per category and nominees who come tops are moved to the 2nd judging stage.

The Independent Audit Committee (IAC) list include Khadijah Aja Tambajang (Senegal), Aisha Augie-Kuta (Nigeria), Dr. Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya), Stanley Azuakola (Nigeria), Mark Okoye (Nigeria), Marr Nyang (Gambia), Ndi Nancy Saiboh (Nigeria), Daisy Wanzala (Kenya), Femi Oye (Nigeria), Lamide Akintobi (Nigeria), Melvis M. Ndiloseh (Cameroon), Seun Onigbinde (Nigeria), Mosunmola Umoru (Nigeria) and Olivia Mukam-Wandji, (Cameroon).

Other are Yomi Awobokun (Nigeria), Chinwe Egwim (Nigeria), Cesar Augusto (Equatorial Guinea), Ukinebo Dare (Nigeria), Juliana Rotich (Kenya), Bukky Kabiri Whyte (Nigeria), Namhla Mniki-Mangaliso (South Africa), Mac-Ikemenjima Dabesaki (Nigeria), Mmanti Umoh (Nigeria), Wanjũhĩ Njoroge (Kenya), Aisha Yesufu (Nigeria), Gbenga Sesan (Nigeria) and Adaku Ufere (Nigeria)

This year’s awards will continue in its tradition of spotlighting the achievements and causes of change-makers from across the continent.

“To enable us do this, we have officially opened our call for nominations.  To nominate, visit To follow activities of the awards and the insta-tour with TFAA alumnus follow @tfaafrica. The official hashtags for 2020 is #TFAA2020 & #TheConvocation,” the organisers said.

The Future Awards Africa, also popularly known as The Future Awards, are a set of awards given by The Future Project (TFP), a social enterprise set up with a strong, practical commitment to human and capital development, especially in Africa.

It is the largest homegrown network of policy-makers, business people, and other stakeholders in Young Africa. The awards celebrate young people between the ages of 18 and 31, who have made outstanding achievement in the year under consideration. Forbes has described the awards as “Most important awards for outstanding young Africans”.