Wednesday, 20th October 2021
Breaking News:

Entry opens for AMAA 2020

By Editor
28 December 2019   |   4:06 am
With submission of entries now open, the countdown to the ​16th Africa Movie Academy Awards ​(AMAA), the premier Africa film awards, has officially begun.

Peace Anyiam-Osigwe of AMAA

With submission of entries now open, the countdown to the ​16th Africa Movie Academy Awards ​(AMAA), the premier Africa film awards, has officially begun.

The Africa Film Academy therefore cordially invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration in 28 film categories of the awards. The deadline for submissions is April 1, 2020, while nominations will be announced on ​the 30th of August 2020​.

The 16th Edition of the AMAAs will be held on October 25, 2020, in Lagos Nigeria and will be televised globally. Only films produced and released between ​January 2019 and ​March 2020​ may be entered for this celebration of African cinema.

The Africa Movie Academy Awards was founded in 2005. Mostly held annually in Nigeria, the AMAAs is without doubt the most prestigious and glamorous African entertainment industry event of its kind. Evolving from a one day event — televised live — to an annually chronicled African event, the AMA Awards is now an established engagement platform for filmmakers, industry professionals and all creative industry stakeholders. The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development and showcase the social relevance of African cinema from filmmakers across the globe.

The awards are presented to recognise and honor the excellence of professionals of African descent in the film industry worldwide. This includes directors and all professional aspects of filmmaking. The AMAAs also serves as a platform that continually unites the black filmmakers through arts and culture.

The 2019 African Movie Academy Awards took place on October 27, at the Landmark Events Center in Lagos State, Nigeria. Lala Akindoju and Lorenzo Menakaya hosted the exciting and glamorous event that presented the best African actor of the year to Marc Zinga for his lead role in the Rwandan movie, Mercy of the Jungle, while Nigeria’s Sola Sobowale won the best actress for her lead role in King of Boys.

Other winners include ​Jahmil X. Qubeka​, who won the Best Director award for Sew the Winter to My Skin. ​Cynthia Dankwa of Burial Of Kojo won award for Best Young Promising Actor. Best Diaspora Short Movie went to Bail, while award for Best Animation went to Choice, even as Best Documentary went to My Friend Fela.

Each completed entry for 2020 entries must be accompanied by all the supporting materials listed on the submission forms, including a synopsis of the film, the list of credits, marketing stills of the film, filmographies of the directors and producers, submissions can be made on myawards-882089

All films must indicate the year of copyright. The Africa Film Academy will not accept any film that exceeds the 120-minute run as a feature or a short film that is longer than 40 minutes. AMAA awards two major categories of short films and animation. The Academy also awards the category for Best Africa Film in the Diaspora and Best Diaspora Short Film Awards. Inclusive of Caribbean Shorts and Caribbean features .In 2020 the Africa Film Academy will introduce a special category for Asian Foreign language category.