Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NWFL demotes Ibom Angels, Sunshine Queens, three others over licensing, registration


The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) yesterday relegated five premiership clubs to the second division for failing to meet players licensing and registration deadlines ahead of the 2020/2021 season.

NWFL Chairperson, Aisha Falode, in a statement said the five clubs, including Ibom Angels of Uyo, Sunshine Queens of Akure, Heartland Queens of Owerri, Dream Stars of Lagos and Adamawa Queens, failed to beat the deadline for club licensing and registration, would play in the Championship, which is the second tier of the NWFL league.


She added that the decision to relegate the clubs was taken by the board, which invoked the NWFL rules and regulations on failure to register at the time set out for such procedures. 

Also speaking on the decision, NWFL’s Chief Operating Officer, Mrs. Faith Ben-Anuge, said in a statement: “Following the closure of registration for the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership Season, we hereby write to inform you of clubs licensed and eligible to participate in the upcoming NWFL 2020/2021 Premiership Season.

“Consequently, clubs not listed below are automatically disqualified and relegated to participate in the NWFL Championship Season.”

With the development, only 11 clubs are eligible to play in the league. They are FC Robo Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Edo Queens, Osun Babes, Bayelsa Queens, Royal Queens, Abia Angels, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Pelican Stars, and Confluence Queens.

She reaffirmed that the NWFL will kick off on December 9, 2020, across the country on a straight league format, adding that the eventual champion and other top clubs will qualify for the inaugural CAF Women Champions League slated to kick off in 2021.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet