The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Friends of Ruby, Lagos host Independence Rugby 7s tourney


Rugby-1Friends of Ruby have announced its collaboration with the Lagos State Sports Commission, to host the eighth edition of The Independence Rugby 7s Tournament slated to hold at the Onikan Stadium, Lagos from October 8 to 9.

Samurai Bulldogs, the Zambia National 7s team and Alexandria Rugby Club of Egypt will be competing with other Nigerian club sides at the two day championship.

The independence Rugby 7’s tournament is a yearly rugby event staged to commemorate Nigeria’s Independence anniversary. The tournament, which is sponsored by CMB Building Maintenance and Investment Company Limited started in 2009 and has since grown to be the biggest Rugby 7s championship in Nigeria. Its 2013 edition had a wider international participation with clubs from the UK, Egypt and Ghana adding international glamour to the event.

According to the organisers, the year’s edition would be bigger and better with 13 local teams and three international teams’ poised to fight for this year’s trophy.

Rugby sevens, also known as seven-a-side, sevens or VIIs, is a variant of rugby union in which teams are made up of seven players, instead of the usual 15, with shorter matches. Rugby sevens is administered by World Ruby, the body responsible for rugby union worldwide.

The game originated in Melrose where the Melrose Sevens tournament is still played yearly. The game is popular at all levels, with amateur and club tournaments generally held in the summer months. Sevens is one of the most well contested forms of rugby, and is popular in parts of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet