The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Man City draw Barcelona, Celtic, as Arsenal get PSG, Basel


Manchester City will meet Scottish champions, Celtic, and manager Pep Guardiola’s former club, Barcelona, in the Champions League group stage. German side Borussia Monchengladbach will be the other team in Group B.

Premier League champions, Leicester, will play Porto, Club Brugge and FC Copenhagen in their debut campaign, while Arsenal have been drawn alongside Paris St-Germain, Basel and Ludogorets, with Tottenham facing Monaco, CSKA Moscow and Bayer Leverkusen.

Guardiola, who replaced Manuel Pellegrini at the end of last season, is Barcelona’s most successful boss, leading the Spanish club to 14 major trophies between 2008 and 2012.

He helped the Catalans, who are five-time European champions, win the Champions League in 2009 and 2011.

After leaving the Nou Camp, the former Spain midfielder took charge of German side, Bayern Munich, and lost to his former side in the 2014-15 Champions League semi-finals.

City, who lost to champions, Real Madrid, in the semi-finals last season, qualified for the group stage thanks to a 6-0 aggregate win over Romania’s Steaua Bucharest.

Leicester produced one of the great sporting shocks to win last season’s Premier League title and qualify for the Champions League for the first time.

The Foxes’ last involvement in European football saw them knocked out of the Uefa Cup in the first round by Red Star Belgrade in 2000.

Claudio Ranieri’s side could have been potentially drawn in a group with last season’s beaten finalists Atletico Madrid, Dutch champions, PSV Eindhoven and Turkish league winners Besiktas.

Even though they face Portuguese champions Porto, who have reached the group stage for a sixth successive season, Belgian title winners Club Brugge and Danish champions FC Copenhagen have shown little Champions League pedigree in recent years.

Brugge are competing in the group stage for the first time since 2005-06, while Copenhagen are ranked 81st in Uefa’s club rankings.

Russian side Rostov – the only other Champions League debutants this season – face Atletico and German champions, Bayern Munich.

Full group stage draw
Group A: Paris St-Germain (France), Arsenal (England), Basel (Switzerland), Ludogorets (Bulgaria).
Group B: Benfica (Portugal), Napoli (Italy), Dynamo Kiev (Ukraine), Besiktas (Turkey).
Group C: Barcelona (Spain), Manchester City (England), Borussia Monchengladbach (Germany), Celtic (Scotland).
Group D: Bayern Munich (Germany), Atletico Madrid (Spain), PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands), Rostov (Russia).
Group E: CSKA Moscow (Russia), Bayer Leverkusen (Germany), Tottenham (England), Monaco (France).
Group F: Real Madrid (Spain), Borussia Dortmund (Germany), Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Legia Warsaw (Poland).
Group G: Leicester City (England), Porto (Portugal), Club Brugge (Belgium), FC Copenhagen (Denmark).
Group H: Juventus (Italy), Sevilla (Spain), Lyon (France), Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet