Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NBBF calls 20 to camp for Commonwealth Games preparation


The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) has extended invitation to 20 players for the first phase of this year’s Commonwealth Games camping screening exercise slated for January 5, in Lagos.

In the letter sent to clubs for the release of invited players, Secretary General of the NBBF, Chimezie Asiegbu, revealed that the team would be supervised by the D’Tigers Assistant Coach, Abdulrahman Mohammed of Gombe Bulls and Coach Aderemi Adewunmi of Kwara Falcons.

Seven players from Kano Pillars dominated the team, as Gombe Bulls, which recently made their continental debut have four players in the provisional list.


Mark Mentors of Abuja have two players as ASPAC Basketball Club of Benin, Rivers Hoopers, Bauchi Nets, Kwara Falcons, Niger Potters and Civil Defenders of Abuja all have one player each.

Among other players who made it are Bulls inspirational captain, Yakubu Abdulwahab, Mark Mentors reliable leader, Usman Musa and Kano Pillars three points legend, Usman Abubakar.

A member of the 2017 Afrobasket silver winning team and Most Valuable Player of the FIBA Africa Zone 3 club championship elimination, Abdul Yahaya, was also invited to the fold alongside Dike Azouma who powered the D’Tigers to their first 3×3 continental trophy in 2017.

Pillars Captain, Ogenyi Matthew, will also have a chance to use the camping to fight for a place in the team alongside fast rising Okpe Ocheibi Victor, who was named as part of the starting five during the club championship elimination.

The Nigeria senior male national team, D’Tigers will be participating in the XXI Commonwealth Games, 2018 Gold Coast, in Queensland, Australia between April 4 and 15, 2018.

NBBF has given the players and officials notice to report to camp with their training kits and travelling documents, as traveling arrangements and registration of players are expected to start immediately.

Full list include: Yakubu Abdulwahab (Gombe Bulls); Usman Musa Mohammed (Mark Mentors); Usman Abubakar (Kano Pillars); Saliu Precious Osigbodi (Aspac); Okpe Ocheibi Victor (Mark Mentors); Okeke Jamil (Gombe Bulls); Ogenyi Matthew (Kano Pillars); Koko Victor Anthony (River Hoopers); Istifanus Yakubu Silvanus (Gombe Bulls); Dung Eli Abraham (Kano Pillars); Dike Azuoma (Kano Pillars); Akita Akpata (Bauchi Nets); Ademola Dele Daniel (Kano Pillars); Abdul Yahaya (Kano Pillars); Dennis Ibikoro (unattached); Godwin David (Kwara Falcon); Ibe Abuchi Agu (Gombe Bulls); Gideon George (Niger Potters); Subel Lucky (Kano Pillars) and Joel Ejigba (Defenders).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet