Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NBBF moves Atlantic Conference to Ilorin, clubs get seven-day grace for registration


The Atlantic Conference of the men’s basketball Premier League, earlier scheduled to hold in Lagos, would now take place in Ilorin, the Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) has revealed. The federation has also disclosed that registration for the season has been extended by seven days to allow clubs to complete their administrative processes.

The NBBF, in a letter signed by its Secretary-General, Afolabi-Oluwayemi Olabisi, said the deadline extension was at the instance of clubs intending to participate in the 2019 Men’s basketball league. 

“Consequently, the 2019 season will commence on Saturday, October 19 in the Atlantic and Savannah Conferences.


“The venue for the Atlantic Conference has been relocated to Ilorin, Kwara State while the Savannah Conference will be held in Zaria,” he added.

To compete in the Atlantic Conference are Oluyole Warriors (Ibadan), Customs (Lagos), Rivers Hoopers (Port Harcourt) Kwara Falcons (Ilorin), Hoops and Read (Lagos), Delta Force (Asaba), Police Baton (Lagos) and Raptors (Lagos).

Also in the conference are Dodan Warriors (Lagos), Islanders (Lagos), Invaders (Ekiti), Coal City (Enugu), and Akure Raiders (Akure).

In the Savannah Conference are Kano Pillars (Kano), Bauchi Nets (Bauchi), Gombe Bulls (Gombe), Kada Stars (Kaduna), Defenders, (Abuja), Niger Potters (Minna), Mark Mentors (Abuja), Plateau Peaks (Jos), Nigeria Army (Zaria) and Benue Braves (Makurdi).

According to the NBBF, the League champions will represent Nigeria in the inaugural Basketball Africa League to be organized by the NBA in conjunction with FIBA Africa.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet