The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigerian players missing, as ITF reveals Main Draw


Sylvester Emmanuel is one of the players expected to vie for honour at the 2015 Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship.

Sylvester Emmanuel is one of the players expected to vie for honour at the 2015 Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship.

No Nigerian player made the Main Draw entry list, as the International Tennis Federation (ITF) yesterday unveiled the top seeds for the 15th Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship.

Moses Michael, who won the Governor’s Cup Invitational Championship last year, is the highest ranked local male player in the ITF list for this year’s competition. Michael is ranked number 1262.

Another Nigerian in the ranking list, but in Qualifying category, is Albert Bisong Bikom (1429). Other Nigerian male players in the Alternates list are Joseph Imeh Ubon, Israel Makinde, Sylvester Emmanuel, Umaru Balami and Mohammed Mohammed. They are not ranked at all.

In the women’s category, no Nigerian lady was ranked, but only two of them registered. They are Osariemen Airunmwunde and Ronke Akingbade.

According to the ITF, Bosnia and Herzegovina player, Aldin Setkic is the highest ranked star in this year’s tournament. He is ranked number 231, while French player, Sherazad Reix is leading the female players. She is ranked number 247 in the world.

Pere Riba of Spain (246), Tucker Vorster from South Africa (316), Tom Jomby of France (348), Takanyi Garanganga of Zimbabwe (436), Sadio Doumbia of France (441), Antal Van Der Duim from The Netherlands (444), Michael Mmoh of USA (455), Llyod Harris of South Africa (492) and Karim-Mohammed Maamoun of Egypt (506) complete the Top 10 seeds in the men’s category of Futures 3 of the Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis, which holds from December 5-12 at Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

Ukraine’ Valeriya Strakhova, who is ranked 267, is second seed in the women’s category. A known face at the annual competition, Slovakia’s Tadeja Majeric will return to Lagos this year as third seed and number 304 in the world.

Also returning to Lagos for the Governor’s Cup are America’s Alexandra Riley (843) and Israeli Ester Masuri (1233).

The Governor’s Cup, since inception during the reign of Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu, has been a tournament organised to celebrate the sitting governor of Lagos State.

Erstwhile Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola had in one of the previous editions played an exhibition game with the CEO of FCMB, Ladi Balogun to the delight of dignitaries and school children who came to watch the finals.

Governor Akinwunmi Ambode had on assumption of office agreed to sustain the ITF approved tournament.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet