Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Paralympic Committee Nigeria dismisses allegations of irregularities in board elections


Sports Minister, Solomon Dalung

Outgoing Secretary General of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), Dr. Frank Thorpe has dismissed allegations of irregularities in the committee’s just concluded executive board elections held in Lagos.
Dr. Thorpe said that the polls were rather free and fair and in accordance with the international standard. He added that everything was done in the open from accreditation to the voting with presidents of all the eight member federations, the media, the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Youth & Sports Development, Mr. Adesola Olusade and other stakeholders present.
Dr. Thorpe added that there must be winners and losers in every election, while advising the losers to accept defeat in the spirit of sportsmanship.


He disclosed that the PCN applied for policemen from Surulere Zone in order to safeguard the voting arena and maintain law and order, adding that only accredited delegates, members of the press and observers had access to the venue.
“We stand on the outcome of the January 15, 2019 election where Brigadier General Emico Eruwa, president of the Nigeria Wheelchair Basketball Federation was elected as the PCN president. He got eight votes to beat his rivals, president of Para-Powerlifting Federation, Queen Uboh Moses, who had six votes, and David Anyaele of the Nigeria Sitting Volleyball Federation that got two votes.
In the elections, Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), Bankole Anderson Abiodun became the first vice president unopposed, while Akindoju Ifedayo Olaloye of the Wheelchair Tennis Federation was equally elected as the second vice president unopposed.
Another keenly contested position was the post of the secretary general, where president of the Nigeria Amputee Football Federation, Isa Dagana Suleiman pulled nine votes to defeat the president of the Nigeria Para-Swimming Federation, Otunba Sylvester Ikuejamoye and president of Nigeria Para Athletics Federation, Geoffrey Ogu, who scored four and three votes respectively.

Mr. Odion Sunday Ketu was elected as the assistant secretary unopposed, same as Madam Lawale Modupe Abosede, who became treasurer of the body unopposed.”

Ruel Ishaku (male) and Flora Ugwunwa (Female) were elected as athletes’ representatives, just as six zonal representatives were equally elected.
They include Oyaderin Felix (North Central), Salawu Yekini (North West), Audu Maina (North East), Asaba Pius Idowu (South West), Agbado Douglas (South South) and Silver Chinedu Ezeikpe (South East).
Meanwhile, the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Adesola Olusade has Dr. Thorpe, and the immediate past president, Monday Emoghavwe for sustaining Nigeria’s good image in international para-sports.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet