The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

BUAF playwright competition closes September 30


Bikiya Graham-Douglas

The Beeta Universal Arts Foundation, led by Bikiya Graham-Douglas, has invited playwrights from across the country to put in their entries for the third edition of Beeta Playwright Competition.

The first edition of the contest produced Our Son the Minister, written by Paul Ugbede and Jagagba by Abdul Qudus-Ibrahim for its second edition.

Both plays have gone on to experience enormous success in terms of prize money – N1 million, publishing deal, and live performances. The competition aims to find new voices in the literary genre of drama in Nigerian literature.
The Beeta Universal Playwright Competition is open to indigenous playwrights between the ages of 18 to 40. The deadline for all entries is September 30, 2019.

Ten finalists will be selected for a writer’s workshop with a winner emerging at the grand finale. The winner stands to win prizes worth N1 million, a publishing deal with PaperWorth Books Limited and the winning play produced by BUAF at Muson Centre, Lagos. It will also be part of a nationwide university campus performance outreach. 
An esteemed jury panel made up of award-winning playwright and professor of Theatre, Ahmed Yerima; culture/film journalist, Shaibu Husseini; veteran actress and producer, Ego Boyo; theatre producer and writer, Ayo Jaiyesimi; director and actor, Kenneth Uphopho and publisher/bookseller, Ibiso Graham-Douglas will curate the playwright workshop and decide the eventual winner of the prize.Entries should be submitted to Follow the conversation on social media @beeta4theatre


In this article:
Bikiya Graham-DouglasBUAF
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet