Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ipadeola for International Writing Programme



Winner of the 2013 Nigeria Prize for Literature, Mr. Tade Ipadeola, has been selected to participate in the International Writing Programme (IWP) Fall Residency at the University of Iowa.

The poet, essayist, translator and author of short stories, who is expected to be in the programme from September 1 to November 16, 2019, joins 28 other accomplished writers from across the globe in the world’s oldest and largest multinational writing residency. The award is courtesy of the United States Department of State.

United States Consulate Public Affairs Officer, Russell Brooks, while congratulating Ipadeola on his acceptance into the residency programme, said the goal of the residency is to provide outstanding writers with a platform for cultural exchange and collaboration.


“The International Writing Programme Fall Residency is a unique experience for rising stars and established writers who have achieved literary distinction and have shown interest in contributing to the creative writing culture in their home countries.

“This programme will enable Ipadeola to present his works and Nigeria’s literary culture to a wider audience. He will in turn learn more about U.S. society, culture, and the American people,” Brooks said.

Over the course of 11 weeks, Ipadeola and the other participants will give readings and lectures that share their work and cultures, collaborate with artists from other genres and art forms, and travel to interact with audiences and literary communities across the United States.

In addition, the residency will provide the writers a one-of-a-kind inter-cultural opportunity to forge productive relationships with colleagues and translators, and take part in the vibrant social and academic life of the University of Iowa as well as the larger American literary scene.

Ipadeola has three published works, including The Sahara Testament, a poetry collection, which won the Nigeria Prize for Literature in 2013 and has been translated into Dutch, French, Spanish and Xhosa. In 2009, he won the Delphic Laurel in Poetry for his Yoruba poem, Songbird, at the Delphic Games in Jeju, South Korea. In 2012, he translated Paid on Both Sides, the first dramatic work of renowned Anglo-American poet, W.H. Auden, into Yoruba as Lamilami.

To date, 34 Nigerian literary figures have participated in the IWP Fall Residency. Notable among them are Elechi Amadi (1973), Cyprian Ekwensi (1974), Ola Rotimi (1980), Femi Osofisan (1986), Niyi Osundare (1988), Festus Iyayi (1990), Lola Shoneyin (1999) and Obari Gomba (2016).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet