Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Writers award nominees released


The African Writers Development Trust has released the shortlist of its 2019 African Writers Awards. Speaking at a media briefing in Abuja last week, the Chief Judge, Anthony Onugba, informed the media that unlike the longlist, which had 10 nominees per category, the shortlist contains three nominees per category. The winner will be announced during the 2019 African Writers Conference to hold at the Sarit Centre, Nairobi, Kenya on September 28.

The nominees are:
Children’s Literature
• Albinism Is Not A Curse by Oroni Tendera (Kenya)
• The Zappinator by Eme Ogbu (Nigeria)
• Cultural Stereotypes by Kui Gitonga (Kenya)
– Judged by Nahida Esmail (Tanzania)
Flash Fiction
• Breaking the Norm; Ungrateful Girl by Temani Nkalolang (Botswana)
• Osu By Bliss Boma (Nigeria)
• Bambi by Nkateko Priscilla Masinga (South Africa)
– Judged by Adah Bitiah Chembo (Zambia)
• Young Alone by Njoka Dickson (Kenya)
• Pongwe’s Life by Andrea B Matambo (Zambia)
• Where Do You Come From by Karimot Odebode (Nigeria)
– Judged by Kolabomi Adeko (Nigeria)
Short Stories
A Lesson in Diffraction by Justin Clement (Nigeria)
Wild Things by Mazpa Ejikem (Nigeria)
Hiding by Priscilla Matara (Botswana)
– Judged by Sabah Carrim (Mauritius)

In this article:
Anthony Onugba
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet