The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigerian legal award honours young lawyers


Lere Fashola

Lere Fashola

Publisher of ESQ Legal Practice Magazine, Mr. Lere Fashola, has stated that the future of any profession is the appreciation of the role of young professionals, saying they add value, proffer solution and impact on the business growth of their clients.

Fashola stated this at 4th edition of the award held last Friday in Lagos, which witnessed the introduction of the ‘Forty Under Forty’ with a primary aim of celebrating the future of the profession.

This year’s edition also focused on the corporate lawyers and lawyers in private practice.

The awards in their variety and categories were received by reputable and deserving winners.

The editor’s merit award include the Business Icon of the Year, which went to Mr Yemi Adeola, MD/CEO Sterling Bank Plc, Lifetime Achievement awards were given to Mr. Asue Ighodalo, partner Banwo & Ighodalo and chairman, Sterling Bank Plc.; Mr. Bayo Ojo, partner, Bayo Ojo & Co and former Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Federal Republic of Nigeria, and Mr Augustine Alegeh, partner Alegeh & Co.

The award for the Legal icon was given to retired Justice Emmanuel Ayoola, former chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission, ICPC.

The law firm of the year award was won by Aluko & Oyebode, while the General Counsel of the Year went to Mrs Justina Lewa, General Counsel and Company Secretary, Sterling Bank Plc.

In the other category awards, seven deserving lawyers won the Outstanding Young Professional award, including Mr Dapo Olanipekun (SAN), partner, Wole Olanipekun & Co, Mrs Dolapo Kukoyi, partner, Detail Solicitors, Mr Wolemi Esan, partner, Olaniwun Ajayi, Mrs Donna Obaseki-Ogunnaike, partner, Adepetun Caxton-Martins, Agbor & Segun, Ozofu Ogiemudia, partner, Udo Udoma & Belo Osagie, and Mr Oludare Senbore, partner, Aluko & Oyebode, and Mr Olamide Oladosu, General Counsel, Rand Merchant Bank Plc.

Other awards in the Corporate Counsel category include the Banking and Finance team of the year which was won by the Zenith Bank legal team; Insurance team of the year goes to the legal team of Axa-Mansard Insurance plc; Capital Market/Investment team of the year goes to the legal team of the Nigerian Stock Exchange; Manufacturing team of the year was won by the Unilever legal team; Oil and Gas team of the year goes to Oando Plc; while the Telecommunications team of the year went to MTN Nigeria Communications Limited; Information Technology team of the year went to the legal team of Interswitch, and Energy team of the year went Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading Plc.

In the law firm category, the Private Equity team of the year award went to Jackson, Etti & Edu; Intellectual Property team of the year also went to Jackson, Etti & Edu; Mergers and Acquisition team of the year, Energy and Power Team of the year, Oil and Gas Team of the year and Project Finance Team of the year all went to Templars.

Banking and Finance team of the year went to G. Elias; Capital market team of the year went to Banwo & Ighodalo. Dispute Resolution Team of the year went to SPA Ajibade; Telecommunications Team of the year went to Aluko & Oyebode; Real Estate Team of the year went to Jackson, Etti & Edu; while Labour and Employment team of the year went to Royal Heritage.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet