The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Abia INEC Denies Two Assembly Winners Certificates Of Return


INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega

INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega

Following the successful conduct of elections into the 24 seats of the State House of Assembly, 22 of the newly elected representatives have been issued their Certificates of Return by the state INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Prof Selina Oko.

The winners for Umuahia South and Isiala Ngwa South Constituencies were not issued their Certificates even when it was stated that PDP won the Isiala Ngwa South and APGA won that of Umuahia South constituencies.

REC Oko said she was surprised that the Certificates of the winners of the two Constituencies seats were not included and assured that the needful would be done to redress it.

Out of the 22 issued their Certificates, 12 were PDP members while 10 were APGA. According to the results, 13 winners were of PDP while 11 were of APGA.

Reacting to the denial of his certificate, Umuahia South APGA winner, Mr Chijoke Nwachukwu expressed surprise but told The Guardian that following the REC explanation, his Certificate will expectedly be issued him soon.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet