Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

AIG announces its third round Oxford scholarship recipients, registration for 2020-2021


Aigboje Imoukhuede PHOTO:

A non-governmental organisation, Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG), has announced recipients of the third round of its yearly scholarships to young and outstanding West Africans, who are passionate about the public sector to pursue the Master of Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford.

In a statement, the AIG named the 2019/2020 recipients as Babafemi Adebola (Nigeria), Onyekachukwu Erobu (Nigeria), Nasir Mohammed (Nigeria), Kwame Sarpong (Ghana) and Hakeem Onasanya (Nigeria).

The AIG also said that application for the 2020/2021 would commence on July 31 and end on Monday, September 23, 2019.


Founder and Chairman of AIG, Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, said: “I am very impressed with the recipients who represent West Africans of great potential. Three qualities are common to all of them – strong intellectual ability, leadership and a passion for public service. It takes a strong value-system to want to serve the public good and these five individuals have demonstrated a compelling desire to do so.”

In June 2016, AIG signed a five-year partnership with the Blavatnik School of Government at the University of Oxford, based on a shared vision of improving the world through good governance and public leadership. In each year of the partnership, AIG makes available five full scholarships for graduate study at the institution.

Chief Executive Officer of the group, Chienye Ogwo, said that the scholars were selected through a rigorous, transparent and merit-based process.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet