The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ayade sends 36 commissioner-nominees to lawmakers for confirmation


Cross River State Governor Ben Ayade has sent a list of 36 commissioner nominees to the state House of Assembly for confirmation.

The Governor Ayade had earlier appointed three persons namely: Tanko Ashong as Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General, Asuqou Ekpenyong (Commissioner for Finance) and Peter Egba (Commissioner for Commerce).

With the new list, the total number of commissioners in his second tenure will come to 39, representing 10 more commissioners higher than the number in his first term.

It would be recalled that Ayade had, during his first term in office, promised to create additional ministries of defence and foreign affairs. However, it was learnt that most, if not all the former commissioners have made the new list including Inyang Asibong, Savior Nyong, Stella Ereme Odey and over 20 of them who could be returning.

It would also be recalled that sometimes in Ayade’s first term, he said due to poor finances of the state, he would reduce the size of his cabinet, but with the new list, it seems the governor may not keep his word.When contacted on the authenticity of the list, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Christian Ita said he was aware that Ayade has sent a list of commissioner nominees to the House of Assembly, but could not confirm the names of those on the list.


In this article:
Ben Ayade
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet