The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Aziegbemi emerges Edo PDP chairman, scores 817 votes


Edo State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has declared a former representative of Esan South-East and Esan North-East Federal Constituency of Edo State, Anthony Aziegbemi, as the newly elected chairman.

Aziegbemi polled 817 votes to defeat former Chairman of Igueben Council Area and immediate past Secretary of the PDP, Felix Imoisili, who scored 488 votes.

He succeeds Chief Dan Orbih whose tenure ended prior to the election.

Chief Electoral Officer of Edo State PDP congress and Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, who was represented by his Political Adviser, Babatunde Oduyoye, declared Aziegbemi winner of the chairmanship position in the keenly contested election, which had Sylvanus Eruanga and Friday Okah as contestants, but did not score any votes.

A former Assistant Secretary of the party, Hilary Osu won the position of state PDP Secretary after securing 739 votes, while Omololu Ojehomo scored 275 votes ahead of Henry Ekundayo, who did not secure any votes.

Voting started at 4 pm on Saturday and ended at 8 am on Sunday, while 1,563 delegates were accredited for the exercise, even as six contestants for the 17 postilions were returned unopposed.

A breakdown of the figures indicated that Edo South Senatorial district had 544 delegates, followed by 534 delegates from Edo North Senatorial district and 487 delegates from Edo Central Senatorial district.

Aziegbemi hails from Edo Central Senatorial district, the same district with former National Chairman of PDP and Minister of Works, the late Chief Tony Anenih.

Expressing satisfaction with the exercise, representative of Oredo Federal Constituency, Omoregie Ogbeide-Ihama, urged other contestants who lost in the election to show sportsmanship and support the party leadership towards victory in the forthcoming governorship poll.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet