The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Buhari wins Lagos, Ogun, Yobe states


President Muhammadu Buhari (left); Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Muhammaed Bello and wife of the President, Aisha Buhari on arrival at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (NAIA), Abuja from Daura after the presidential elections… yesterday.   PHOTO: PHILIP OJISUA

•Amosun, ex-minister, Idahosa emerge victorious in N’Assembly polls
President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the last weekend’s contests in Lagos, Ogun and Yobe states.

The collation officer for Lagos, Professor Felix Kolawole, said of the 1,156,590 votes cast, Buhari won in 15 of the state’s 20 council areas, polling 580,825 ballots to defeat his Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) opponent, Atiku Abubakar, who secured the remaining five councils with a 448,015 tally.

According to the collation officer in Ogun and Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), Prof. Joseph Adeola Fuwape, the APC candidate emerged victorious in 14 of the 20 councils of the state and amassed 281,762 in the process while Atiku got 194,655 ballots from the rest six.


In Yobe, the incumbent won 85 per cent of the votes cast while his main opponent got 8.6 per cent share.

Announcing the results yesterday in Damaturu, the returning officer and Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State, Prof. Abubakar Gundiri, stated that the APC polled 497,914 of the 586,137 total votes cast while the PDP recorded 50,763 tally.

Besides, the returning officer for Ogun Central senatorial district, Prof. Idris Akanbi, has declared Governor Ibikunle Amosun as winner of the contest.

The APC candidate scored 88,110 ballots to defeat his closest rival and flag-bearer of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Titi Oseni-Gomez, who polled 37,101 votes.

The results, which were announced in Abeokuta, showed the PDP standard-bearer, Apostle Abiodun Sanyaolu came third with 33,276 tally.

However, INEC has declared the Ogun East contest inconclusive.

The returning officer, Prof. Chris Nwoka, told reporters in Ijebu-Ode that the decision was predicated on the fact that the number of ballots cancelled and eligible voters in Ward 10, Ajebandele in Ijebu East Local Council surpassed the margin between the two leading contestants, Senator Lekan Mustapha of the APC who got 84,929 votes and PDP’s Ayoola Sosanwo that recorded 82,457 ballots from the nine council areas so far collated.


Moreover, former Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Khadija Bukar Ibrahim, was declared winner of the polls for Damaturu/Gujba/Tarmuwa/Gulani federal constituency of Yobe.

The returning officer, Prof. Maimuna Waziri of Federal University of Gashua, stated in Potiskum that she polled 34,293 votes to better the 3,531figure of her PDP opponent.

Also yesterday, the electoral umpire confirmed the election of the APC candidate, Dennis Idahosa, as representative of Ovia constituency in the lower chamber of the National Assembly.

The erstwhile commissioner in Edo State polled 28,509 ballots to defeat the incumbent and daughter of Chief Gabriel Igbinedion, Omosede, who scored 23, 345 votes.

The returning officer, Prof. Victor Igbinedion of the University of Benin, announced the final result at Iguobazuwa, Ovia South West council area.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet