Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

FG, ASUU to renegotiate 2009 agreement, as Buhari sets up team




The Federal Government and the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) are to renegotiate the provisions of the 2009 agreement. To kick-start the process, President Muhammadu Buhari has set up a Federal Government†team, headed by Dr. Wale Babalakin.

The team comprises 16 members led by Babalakin, and the renegotiation would take place between the FG and staff unions in the Federal Universities, Federal Polytechnics and Federal Colleges of Education.

Dr. Wale Babalakin is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN). He was adjudged the best pro-chancellor at the time of the negotiations in 2009, and also headed the agreement implementation committee then.


The re-negotiation team will dialogue with the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT) and Non Academic Staff Union of Associated and Allied Institutions (NASU).

The names of members of the government team are Dr.† Wale Babalakin, SAN; (Chairman), Prof. M.M. Jibril, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lafia; Prof. Nimi Briggs, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lokoja; Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke; Arc. Lawrence Ngbale, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Birnin Kebbi; Prince Alex Mbata, Pro-Chancellor, Imo State University, Owerri; Prof. Olufemi Bamiro, Pro-Chancellor, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun; Representatives, Federal Ministry of Education, Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment; Federal Ministry of Finance; Federal Ministry of Justice; Federal Ministry of Budget and National Planning; National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission† (NSIWC) and Representative of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF).

In another development, President Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of University of Port Harcourt and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife. It would be recalled that the governing councils of both universities were recently dissolved following crises that engulfed the two institutions. The statement from the ministry indicated that the new governing councils would serve for a term of four years, in the first instance, effective from December 28, 2016.

Names of the new chairmen and members of the governing councils of the two universities were given as Dr .Yemi Ogunbiyi, Prof. Felix U Madubuike, Mr. Inowei Akono, Mr. Adekunle Sanni and Bello Kaoje for OAU; and Prof. Mvendega Jibo, Chief Johnson Okafor, Mr. Joseph Fafi, Haj. Lubabatu Lawal Ammani and M. Bello Dukku for the University of Port Harcourt.

In this article:
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet