Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

FG to open social registers in six states


The Youth Employment and Support Operation (YESSO), a World Bank assisted programme, is to open social registers aimed at capturing poor people in six additional states of the federation.

Speaking with journalists in Abuja, Acting National Coordinator, Mrs. Hajara Sami, gave some of the states where the exercise will begin in 2019 to include Akwa Ibom, Abia, Kaduna and Kebbi.

Sami explained that the programme was restructured midway to accommodate persons who were affected by Boko Haram terrorism in the Northeast and other regions.She said it would provide less-privileged Nigerians with targeted cash transfers for internally displaced persons (IDPs) to enable them start their lives afresh.

According to her, they want to increase access to as many vulnerable persons as possible, using improved social safety net system in the benefiting states.YESSO is currently working in Adamawa, Bauchi, Cross River, Borno, Ekiti, Kogi, Niger, Gombe, Kwara, Taraba, Osun, Oyo, Sokoto, Yobe and Ondo states,” she added.

Sami, therefore, stressed that government was committed to reducing the worsening poverty and high level of youth unemployment in the country. “We have paid N30,000 to 11,000 households in the first phase and N20,000 to those want to relocate to new locations, while N100,000 is meant for people with resettlement needs,” she stated.

In this article:
Hajara SamiYESSO
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet