Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

FG yet to address 2009 agreement with ASUU, says Ogunyemi


[FILE PHOTO] ASUU National President, Prof. Biodun Ogunyemi

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) yesterday disclosed that the Federal Government is yet to address issues emanating from renegotiation of the 2009 Agreement in its new offer to the union.

It stated that government also failed to make fresh offer on funding for the revitalisation of public universities in Nigeria.

President of ASUU, Professor Biodun Ogunyemi, stated this in Strike Bulletin nine sent to branches of the union.


He stated that although government has improved its earlier offers, there are still unresolved critical issues.

He asked members of the public to disregard misinformation being peddled through various media by agents of government and haters of the principle of ASUU, just as he enjoined members to remain committed in the struggle to revitalise the nation’s educational system.

Also, Federal University, Otuoke chapter of ASUU has thrown its weight behind the demotion of seven professors at the institution by the Gbemisola Saraki-led governing council.

In a communiqué signed by its Chairman, Dr. Joseph Omoro, and Secretary, Dr. John Kalama, after its emergency meeting, it said the demotion of the affected professors followed the extant rules governing the university.

At a media briefing in Yenagoa, the demoted professors led by Professor Steve Nwabuzor, Dr. Fellina Nwadike and Dr. Evans Ugboji-Eze, had accused the Vice Chancellor of chasing shadows.

They also accused the VC of tribalism and nepotism, adding that he was uncomfortable with the crop of senior academic and administrative staff his predecessor employed.

But the union argued that the governing council verified their case, took a decision at its 10th meeting and announced that based on lack of requisite scholarship, the seven dons were reclassified.

The affected professors are, Dr. Steve Nwabuzor, downgraded to Lecturer I; Dr. Leonard Shilgba, demoted from Professor to Senior Lecturer; Dr. Timothy Falade-Obalande, debased to Senior Lecturer and Dr. Felina Nwadike, from Associate Professor to Senior Lecturer.

Others are Dr. Sepribo Lawson-Jack, downgraded from Associate Professor to Lecturer I; Dr. Marcelina Offoha, from Associate Professor to Lecturer I; and Dr. Evans Eze, from Associate Professor to Lecturer II.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet