Sunday, 10th December 2023

INEC declares PDP candidates, others winners in supplementary elections in Rivers, Bayelsa 

By Ann Godwin (Port Harcourt) and Julius Osahon (Yenagoa)
17 April 2023   |   3:57 am
Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Rivers and Bayelsa states has declared Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates and others winners.

Photo by Benson Ibeabuchi / AFP

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Rivers and Bayelsa states has declared Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates and others winners.

In Khana/Gokana Federal Constituency of Rivers, Dunameme Dekor, emerged the winner.

The result was announced after collation of results was concluded in Sorgho and Bangha communities. The Returning Officer for the election, Kingsely Owete, said Dekor satisfied the requirements of the law and was re-elected.

Shortly after he was declared winner, Dekor commended INEC and security agencies for being apolitical in the discharge of their duties.

Similarly, the PDP candidate for Port Harcourt Federal Constituency II, Blessing Amadi, was declared the winner.

The Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate in the area, Friday Nkee-ee, scored the election very low, alleging that hoodlums snatched election materials while the police watched.

Meanwhile, Labour Party and All Progressives Congress (APC) shunned Saturday’s election.

Spokesman for the APC Campaign Council in the State, Sogbeye Eli, who noted that their candidate for Port Harcourt Federal Constituency, Collins Owhonda,  has left the party, said previous elections were heavily manipulated and that his party cannot participate in a fraudulent exercise.

IN Southern Ijaw Federal constituency Bayelsa, Rodney Ambaiowei of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was declared winner while
Obein Godknows of the All Progressive Congress (APC) was winner of the Ogbia constituency 2 of the State House of Assembly.

The result declared by the returning officer, Prof. Johnson Ohakwe, indicates that the APC’s Godknows registered 5,291 votes to defeat incumbent legislator, Munalayefa Gibson, of the PDP who had 4, 342 votes.

With the outcome, the Peoples Democratic Party will be having 17 seats in the Seventh Bayelsa State House of Assembly while the All Progressives Congress will be having five as the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA has two.

In this article