Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ladipo traders elect new leaders, seek pedestrian bridge at Toyota bus stop


Traders casting their vote yesterday<br />

Worried by the increasing casualties to traders and road users in Toyota bus stop on Oshodi-Apapa expressway, the newly elected president of the Ladipo Ultra-Modern Market Association, Jude Chikelu Nwankwo, has appealed to the Lagos State Government to construct a pedestrian bridge at the bus stop leading to the market.
He made the appeal after winning the election held yesterday to elect new executives for the Ladipo Central Executive Committee (LACEC), the umbrella governing body of the 43 units in the popular auto market.


The market was yesterday closed for business as traders went to the polls. At the end of the elections, which ended around 3:00 p.m. the incumbent President-General, Jude Nwankwo, was declared elected by the Ugochukwu Agwuncha-led Ladipo Electoral Committee (LEC).
Nwankwo, a long-time auto dealer and former vice president of the association, was returned unopposed, as there was no other contender for the office of the president-general.

He said the association has lost a countless number of traders due to the absence of the bridge, which is long overdue. In January, a man lost his leg in an auto accident after a mini-truck crushed him at a Toyota bus stop.


The president also dispelled rumours making the rounds of a proposed relocation of the market by the state government.
Speaking with The Guardian, Agwuncha said this is the first time in the history of the market that an election was held and every stakeholder is happy. “It shows how much the people loved him as a result of his open-door policy and people-first oriented leadership style.”

Other newly elected executives of the association to pilot the affairs of the market for the next two years are Ezebulanwa Fredrick, Vice President; Ogudoro Ndukaku, General Secretary; Nnaji Ikechukwu Victor, Assistant Secretary; Dimanyichie Valentine, Financial Secretary; Eze Ekene, Public Relations Officer; Ezekwo Ezekiel Izuchukwu, Assistant PRO; Ukeanya Nnamdi, Treasurer; Eriugo Nzubechukwu, Assistant Provost; and Okoye Michael as Welfare.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet