Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Makinde sends list of commissioner-nominees to Assembly



Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde has forwarded the names of commissioner-nominees to the House of Assembly.

Makinde had sacked 17 commissioners and the Chief of Staff, Chief Bisi Ilaka, on June 29, 2021.


A source in the Office of the Speaker told The Guardian that the list had been sent to the Assembly.

“We have received the list. But we are not sure if we will present it in the plenary on Tuesday. But I can confirm to you that the names are with us.”

Another source close to the Assembly said that the nominees included seven of the previous 17 cabinet members.


They are Siju Lawal (Establishment), Daud Sangodoyin (Works), Oyelowo Oyewo (Justice), Akinola Ojo (Finance), Bayo Lawal (Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters), Seun Ashamu (Energy), and Faosat Oni (Women Affairs and Social Inclusion).

The Guardian learned that they would retain their previous positions in the cabinet.

It is not clear when the governor would send the names of the remaining nominees.


In this article:
House of AssemblyMakinde
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet