The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NCMG honours Adadevoh, Onosode, Abubakar, Kukah, others


Mrs. Amina Oyagbola (left); Chairman, Advisory Board, NCMG Peace Awards, Lady Maiden Alex-Ibru; son of late Dr. Stella Shade Adadevoh, Bankole Cardoso, and Niniola Soleye, at the presentation of posthumous Special Recognition Award to Adadevoh during the event in Lagos.

Late physician and boardroom guru, Dr. Stella Ameyo Adadevoh, and Mr. Gamaliel Onosode, are among eminent citizens conferred with International Peace Awards by the Negotiation and Conflict Management Group (NCMG) for their selfless service to Nigeria and Africa as a whole. Also recognised during the event, which held in Lagos, were former Head of State, General Abdulsalam Abubakar, and the Catholic Bishop of Sokoto Diocese, Matthew Hassan Kukah, for ensuring sanity in the land during and after the 2015 presidential election through the National Peace Committee. Six individual and institutions were honoured for advancing humanity and peace during the last polls and the upcoming one next year.

The NCMG Peace Awards recognises individuals and organisations that exhibit exemplary leadership in the pursuit of peace and justice.The families of the departed Adadevoh and Onosode received their posthumous awards. Abubakar and Kukah on the other hand, got national peace awards.

Adadeyoh, who died on August 19, 2014, was renowned for preventing the spread of the deadly Ebola virus in the country. She contracted the disease while tending the Liberian carrier, Patrick Sawyer. The other posthumous awardee, Onosode, was singled out for his passion for education, illustrious career and commitment to a better society. Dr. Fatima Akilu of NEEM Foundation bagged the Peace Builder Award, the Justice Builder Award went to Dr. Josephine Okei-Odumakin, while the Almajiri Child Rights Initiative (ACRI) was picked for the institutional Peace Builder Award. Eighteen-year-old rights activist, Khairatul Saud, nicked the Youth Innovation for Peace Award.

In his keynote address, the Resident Programme Director, International Republican Institute (IRI), Abuja, Mr. Sentell Barnes, deplored the lack of internal democracy and ideology among political parties and leaders nationwide. He stressed that the parties equally do not create opportunities for women, youths and persons with disabilities to participate actively in electioneering.

Admitting that some improvements had been recorded in election handling on the continent and Nigeria, especially the 2015 exercise, Barnes maintained that efforts must be sustained to protect and strengthen rule of law, provide environment for civil society organisations to grow as well as expand freedom of the press, create an inclusive political process and increase the capacity of the electoral commission to manage disputes arising from its activities.

Earlier, the chairman of the occasion, Dr. Christopher Kolade, noted that the nation’s current predicament was the making of Nigerians, adding that conflicts were a global thing. He urged the citizens to eschew politics without principle; pleasure without conscience; worship without sacrifice; and above all, embrace peace.

In her remarks, the Chairman, NCMG Peace Awards Committee, Prof. Isabella Okagbue, said the organisation was committed to a society devoid of devastating conflicts. The desire, according to her, underlines its respect for peacemakers working for lasting peace either through post-conflict humanitarian actions or activities preventing crises. She applauded The Guardian Publisher and Chairman of the Advisory Board, Lady Maiden Alex-Ibru, for her continued support to the organisation. Other members of the board are Mr. John Momoh and Senator Daisy Danjuma. The Panel of Judges was chaired by Prof. lbrahim Gambari.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet