Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ogun grants students automatic promotion


Ogun State Government has granted automatic promotion to all students in the state except those in tertiary institutions.

Kunle Somorin, a spokesman to the state governor Dapo Abiodun in a statement said automatic placement has been granted for primary 6 students in public primary schools into JSS1 of public secondary schools.

The students will be resuming in their new classes for the first term of 2020/2021 academic session, which makes it the second phase of the reopening of schools.

Somorin said the reopening phase is extended to all classes in primary and secondary schools, technical and vocational colleges, and tertiary institutions.


But as part of the efforts to avoid the spread of coronavirus in schools, the school hours are staggered.

While student primary 1 to primary 3 classes will be in school from ​​​​8.00 am to 11.00 am, students in primary 4 to Primary 6​​​​ are to be in school from 12.00noon to 3.00 pm.

Also, Junior Secondary School (JSS) 1 and 3 students resume from ​​​​ 8.00 am to 11.00 am and students in Senior Secondary School 1 and 3 will be in school from 12.00 pm to 3.00 pm

Technical and vocational will operate their normal school hours of 8.00 am to 2.00 pm, the government said.

With the new guidelines, private schools are expected to take necessary measures to meet the COVID-19 protocols for physical distancing, among other requirements.

Tertiary institutions are allowed to commence reopening from September 21 as may be determined by their respective management, Somorin said.

In this article:
Dapo AbodunOgun State
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet