Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ortom warns new commissioners against diversion of funds


Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue

Benue State Governor Samuel Ortom yesterday swore in 15 new commissioners and warned them against diversion of funds meant for the execution of public projects for the people’s welfare and wellbeing.

He also charged the new commissioners to comply strictly with the core values of his administration for seamless implementation of the programmes, noting that he will not hesitate to drop anyone found wanting.

He said: “I wish to emphasise that all public servants under this administration should not dare to convert funds meant for the execution of public projects for the people’s welfare and wellbeing into private pockets.

“This is unacceptable and contrary to public fiscal responsibility and we shall not hesitate to use the big stick against such conduct.”


Ortom, who intimated that his administration had embarked on aggressive internal revenue generation with a view to meeting campaign promises, said it was by that singular reason that his administration is currently re-organising the machinery of government in some sectors for effective service delivery.

“Let me stress that every appointee must perform satisfactorily in order to continue to be part of our team.

“You are, therefore, requested to acquaint yourselves with administrative guidelines, financial regulations and office procedure to enable you discharge your duties effectively,” he added.

He said they must strive to deploy their experience to bear on the collective determination to respond to the challenges and expectations.

Fifteen commissioners were sworn in, among whom were three female.

They are Michael Gusa (Attorney-General), David Olofu (Finance), Prof. Dennis Ityavyar (Education), Unenge Aondoaver Bernard (Land and Survey), Chief Dennis Ekpe Ogbu (Housing) and M-erga Kachina (Industry, Trade and Investment).

Others include Mrs. Laadi Ajene Isegbe (Youth and Sport), Mrs. Ngunan Addingi (Information, Culture and Tourism), Dr. Ongbabo Elaigwu Sunday (Health), Alexander Shaapera (Works), Timothy Aondona Ijir (Agriculture), Joshua Dondo Ahire (Water and Environment) as well as Oyiwona Godwin Emanuei (Energy).

The rest are Igirgi Nyiazungwe (Women Affairs) and Victor Dzungwe Ukaha (Rural Development).a

In this article:
Benue stateSamuel Ortom
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet