Wednesday, 27th September 2023

We don’t want minister of state again – Part 3

By Eric Teniola
13 April 2023   |   1:52 am
The President has the power to assign administrative responsibility to the Vice-President of any Minister regarding any business or department of the Government.) Section 148 (2) The President shall hold regular meetings with the Vice-President and all the Ministers of the Government of the Federation...

Buhari and  ministers

The President has the power to assign administrative responsibility to the Vice-President of any Minister regarding any business or department of the Government.) Section 148 (2) The President shall hold regular meetings with the Vice-President and all the Ministers of the Government of the Federation for the purposes of – (The President should have regular meetings with the Vice-President and all the Ministers in regards the following: – )

Section 148 (2)(a) determining the general direction of domestic and foreign policies of the Government of the Federation;(When it relates to the general direction of local and foreign policies of the government.) Section 148 (2)(b) co-ordinating the activities of the President, the Vice-President and the Ministers of the Government of the Federation in the discharge of their executive responsibilities; and (Meetings held in order to arrange the activities of the President, Vice-President and Ministers and in doing so, assist them in discharging their executive functions/ responsibilities.) Section 148 (2)(c) advising the President generally in discharge of his executive functions other than those functions with respect to which he is required by this Constitution to seek the advice or act on the recommendation of any other person or body.

(In those meetings, the Vice-President and or the Ministers can advise the President on how best to discharge his executive functions but this does not include functions which the Constitution has stated that the President should be advised or an on the recommendation of a Body or any other person.)

Between 1999 and 2001, President Olusegun Obasanjo GCFR was worried about the conflict between Ministers and Ministers of State and the clash between Ministers and Permanent Secretaries. He held three retreats in Abuja on this issue. The fourth retreat was held at the National Institute For Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru, Jos between 23rd-25th February 2001.

The Head of Service, Alhaji Yayale Ahmed attended the retreat as well as the following Permanent Secretaries then. They are Alhaji Umar M. Abubakar, Engr. D.B. Usman, Dr. K. Nkumah, Mr. M.O. Onoja, Dr. R.O. Mowoe, Dr. M. Babangida Aliyu, Dr. B.K. Kaigama, Dr. O.M. Ojo, Mr. John P. Hirse, Alhaji Bello U. Maiatmbari, Alhaji Guda A. Abdullahi, Mr. O.O.O. Ogunkua, Mr. G.O. Enukora, Dr. Aboki Zhawa, Mr. Garba Buwaijmni, Amb. T.D. Hart, Mr.A.E. Ogbuehi, Alhaji H.Z. Akwanga, Rev. P.O. Okunromade, Dr. C.J.G. Orjioke, Mr. T.D. Oyelade, Dr. S.I. Muhammad, Alhaji N.B. Dambatta, Mr. O.O. Oyelakin, Mr.L.N. Asugha, Amb. G.B. Preware, Dr. Abdullahi Aliyu, Ms. T.O. Akerele, Ms. A.I. Pepple, Alhaji Tukur Mani, James Kayode Naiyeju, Ammuna Lawrence-Ali, Alhaji I. Talba, Dr. Hakeem Baba Ahmed, David O. Oyegun, Mr. A.O. Okafor, Mrs. A.M. Rufai, Mrs G.I. Archibong, Dr. R.O. Adewoye, Dr. B.A. Akinola and P.N. Akubueze.

Also in attendance were the Governor of Plateau State, Chief Joshua Dariye, Ambassador O. Esan(Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, State House), Ambassador E.A. Azikiwe, Senior Special Assistant to the President(Anti-Corruption and Transparency Matters), Bisi Ogunniyi, Special Assistant to the Chief of Staff to the President, Presidential Villa, Abuja, Major General J.N. Garba(rtd.), Director General, NIPSS, Kuru, Jos, Dr. Stanley Macebuh, Senior Special Assistant to the President (Special Duties), Tunji Oseni, Senior Special Assistant to the President, (Media & Publicity) Presidential Villa, Abuja, Mr Ad’obe Obe, Senior Special Assistant to the President(International Relations), Dr. Goke Adegoroye, Director (Special Duties) to the SGF, Mrs. Titi Iroche, Director of Political Affairs, Mr. S.A. Adeyeye (Special Assistant 1 to the SGF), Dr. J.N. Obiegbu (Special Assistant II to the SGF), Mr. F.O.  Osobukola, Deputy Director (APD) OSGF and Alhaji Ibrahim Jega, Deputy Director (SWT) OSGF.

Professor Akin Mabogunje, Chief Kanu Agabi SAN, the Chairman of Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission, Justice M.M.A. Akanbi, Dr. G.A. Gundu, Mr. O.S. Ogedengbe, Mr. Wuese Ai, Mr. F.F. Ogunshakin, Mr. J. Okpo, Mr. K.J. Wudil, Mr. E.I. Onuoha, Mr. A. Mohammed and Mr. O.I. Adisa, all from THE CABINET SECRETARIAT, Mr. Seyi Olowokere as well as myself attended the retreat.

The following Ministers attended the retreat Chief Bola Ige (SAN), Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Alhaji Adamu Bello, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. (Mrs.) Kema Chikwe, Minister of Aviation, Alhaji Muhammad Arzika, Minister of Communications, Ms Boma Bromillow Jack, Minister of Culture and Tourism, Mrs Modupe Adelaja, Minister of State, Defence(Navy), Professor A.B. Borishade, Minister of Education, Alhaji Muhammad Kabir Said, Minister of Environment, Engr. Mohammed Abba-Gana, Minister of Federal Capital, Mallam Adamu Ciroma, Minister of Finance, Chief Dubem Onyia, Minister of State, Foreign Affairs, Alhaji Musa Elayo Abdullahi, Minister of State, Justice, Chief Chris Agbobu, Minister of State, Agriculture and Rural Development, Engr. Mustapha Bello, Minister of Commerce, Alhaji L. Ade Haruna-Elewi, Minister of State, Communications, Mallam L. Tukur Batagarawa, Minister of State, Defence (Army) and Engr. Dan Chuke, Minister of State, Defence (Airforce).

Others are Alhaji Bello Usman, Minister of State, Education, Dr. Imeh T. Okopido, Minister of State, Environment, Mr. Solomon S.A. Ewuga, Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory, Senator Jubril Martins-Kuye, Minister of State, Finance, Professor A.B.C. Nwosu, Minister of Health, Dr. (Mrs) Aminat Ndalolo, Minister State for Health, Chief Lawrence Nwuruku, Minister of State, Industry, Chief S.M. Afolabi (JP), Minister of Internal Affairs, Alhaji Musa Musa Gwadabe, Minister of Labour and Productivity, Dr. Olusegun Agagu, Minister of Power and Steel, Professor Turner Isoun, Minister of Science and Technology, Mr. Kanu G. Agabi, (SAN), Minister of Solid Minerals Development,  Chief Ojo Madueke, Ministry of Transport, Colonel Mohammed B. Kaliel (Rtd.), Hajia Aishatu M.S. Ismail, Minister of Women Affairs and Youth Development,

The remaining Ministers at the retreat are Mr. Garba Madaki Ali, Minister of State, Transport, Mr. Yomi Edu, Minister of State, Special Duties, The Presidency, Alhaji Ibrahim Umar Kida, Minister of State, Inter-Governmental Affairs, The Presidency, Chief Kolawole B. Jamodu, Minister of Industry, Professor Jerry Gana, Minister of Information and National Orientation, Dr. Mohammed Shata, Minister of State, Internal Affairs, Mr. Steven Ibn Akiga, Minister of Police Affairs, Alhaji Danjuma Goje, Minister of State, Power and Steel, Mrs. Pauline K-Tallen, Minister of State, Science and Technology, Mr. Ishaya Mark Aku, Minister of Sports and Social Development, Mr. Isa Yuguda, Minister of State, Transport, Chief Precious Ngelale (JP) Minister of State, Water Resources, Chief Tony Anenih, Minister of Works and Housing, Chief Bimbola Ogunkelu, Minister of Cooperation and Integration in Africa, Prince Vincent Ogbulafor, Minister of State, Economic Matters, The Presidency and Chief Phillip Asiodu, Chief Economic Adviser and Vice Chairman, National Planning Commission.
To be continued tomorrow
Teniola, a former Director at the Presidency wrote from Lagos.