The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Atiku defeats Buhari in Edo, Delta, Enugu, Taraba, Imo, Bayelsa


Candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Atiku Abubakar (L) speaks with PDP Chairman of Board of Trustees Walid Jibrin as they attend an emergency National Executive Committee party meeting in Abuja on February 19, 2019, ahead of rescheduled general elections. Pius Utomi EKPEI / AFP

• CUPP seeks nullification of results in disputed areas
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Atiku Abubakar, has defeated President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Edo State with a margin of 7,849 votes.Announcing the results in Benin City yesterday, the Collation Officer, Ndowa Lare, said Atiku polled 275,691 votes to defeat President Buhari, who scored 267,691 votes.

Lale said registered voters in state were 2,150,127, while 604,915 were accredited for the polls.The PDP also won two senatorial and House of Representatives seats, as incumbent Senator for Edo South, Matthew Urhoghide, was declared winner and returned re-elected in Saturday’s polls. Urhoghide scored 135,588 votes to defeat Patrick Obaghiagbon of the APC, who scored 121,957 votes.

Also, PDP’s House of Representatives member for Egor/Ikpoba Okha federal constituency, Jude Ise-Idehen, scored 53,618 votes to stop APC’s Johnson Agbonayinma, who polled 44,322 votes.


In Delta State, Atiku won 23 of the 25 local government areas, while President Muhammadu Buhari won in two local government areas.Collation Officer, Professor Seth Accra Jaja, said, PDP candidate scored 594,608, while President Buhari polled 221,292 of the total votes cast.He explained that the state had 2,719,313 registered voters, while 891, 647 were accredited for the election.

The results from Taraba State also swung in favour of Atiku, who has been declared winner by the Collation Officer, Professor Shehu Iya. Declaring the results in Jalingo, he said Atiku scored 374,743 votes, while the President polled 324,906 votes.

In Imo State, Atiku scored 334,923 in the 27 local government areas, compared to President Buhari’s 140,463 votes.Declaring the results yesterday, the state Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)’s Public Relations Officer (PRO), Mrs. Emmanuella Ben-Opara, who submitted signed copies of the results by the Collation Officer, Professor Benjamin Chukwuma Ozumba, said registered voters stood at 2,037,563; accredited voters (585,741), while valid votes were 511, 566.

In Bayelsa State, PDP won with 197, 933 votes in six local government areas against Buhari’s 118, 821 votes in two councils, according to the Returning Officer, Professor Zana Akpagbo, who declared the results yesterday.

Reacting, the Coalition United Political Party (CUPP) called for cancellation of the results from seven wards in Nembe-Basambiri and four wards in Southern Ijaw over alleged malpractices.Addressing journalists in Yenagoa, state Chairman of CUPP, Tare Edwin, demanded fresh election, as violence marred the exercise in the areas.

Meanwhile, PDP candidates won Senatorial and House of Representatives seats in Enugu State, as Chimaroke Nnamani emerged in Enugu East Senatorial district. Returning Officer, Professor Aloysius Okorie, said he (Nnamani) scored 128,843 votes to beat Lawrence Eze of APC and Uchenna Nwegbo of APGA, who scored 14,225 and 1,586 votes.

Also, Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu returned to the Senate, as he was declared winner of Enugu West Senatorial seat. Ekweremadu, according to the Returning Officer, Professor Douglas Nwabueze, polled 86,088 votes to beat his closest rival Mrs. Juliet Ibekaku Nwangwu of APC, who polled 15,187 votes.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet