Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Court reserves ruling in Oyo governorship petition


Rashidi Ladoja

Rashidi Ladoja

The Court of Appeal sitting in Ibadan yesterday reserved judgment in the governorship election petition appeal filed by former governor Rashidi Ladoja who was the gubernatorial candidate of Accord party (AP) in the last election.

Ladoja and Accord are challenging the judgment of the Justice Mohammed Mayaki-led election petition tribunal that upheld the election of the State governor, Abiola Ajimobi, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in its ruling delivered on October 27, 2015.

The five-man panel led by Justice H.M. Ogunjumiju, reserved judgment on the two cases after it adopted briefs from the appellant and four respondents.

Other members of the panel are Justices H.S. Tsammani, Uchechukwu Oyemenam, J.O.K. Oyewole and M.L. Shuaibu. The panel also struck out the cross appeal filed by the APC.

The respondents in the first appeal filed by Ladoja, are Governor Abiola Ajimobi, APC, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and Accord.
Also, in the second appeal filed by Accord, the respondents are Governor Abiola Ajimobi , APC, INEC and Rashidi Ladoja.

While Chief Robert Clarke (SAN) is the lead counsel for Ladoja, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) represented Abiola Ajimobi, Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN) appeared for APC, Mallam Yusuf Ali, appeared for INEC and Mr. Adeyemi Olatubora was the lead counsel for Accord.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet