Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Niger youths protest against market relocation, block highway


abubakar-sani-bello1• Gov Bello swears in 14 commissioners, warns against corruption
YOUTHS in Lambata blocked the major highway leading into Minna, the Niger State capital, protesting against the relocation of the town’s market by the state government.
A fish seller in the town, Malam Hassan Adamu, said that the road has been blocked since Monday evening.
“The youths came out late night to block the road due to the stopping of market activities by government. The Izom people wanted the Lambata and Izom markets to operate simultaneously, but there is opposition from Lambata,” he said.

Police Spokesman, ASP Elkana Bala, confirmed the blockage to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), saying securitymen had already been deployed to the venue.
“Our men have been deployed and situation will soon be under control. I urge all involved to be law abiding,” he told NAN.

As at 11:30am the bridge at Izom linking Minna and Suleja was still blocked by youths while tear gas was fired into the air to disperse them.

The killing of three Fulani herdsmen at the Lambata market a fortnight ago, which led to the intervention of the state government, caused the lingering crisis.

Meanwhile, Governor Abubakar Bello has said the state government would not tolerate corruption.
Bello said this in Minna while swearing in 14 commissioners, three special advisers and Deputy Chief of Staff.
He said the state government would not condone corruption, as there would be no place to hide for any corrupt official in his administration.

“You must see yourselves as positive change agents in your daily activities and not use your office to amass wealth,” he said.

The Governor said the task ahead was enormous, assuring that the he was determine to develop the state to meet the aspirations of the people.

The new commissioners are Alhaji Idris Azozo, Malam Mamman Musa, Alhaji Aliyu Abdullahi, Hajiya Fatima Madugu, Dr. Mustapha Jibrin, Mallam Ibrahim Balarebi and Mr. Aliyu Zakar Jikantoro.
Others include Kabi Musa, Mr. Nasara Danmalam, Alhaji Aliyu Tangagi, Alhaji Abdulmalik Cheche, Alhaji Mohammed Nda, Mr. Jonathan Vatsa and Hajiya Ramatu Yar’adua.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet