Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Senator Musa joins race for APC national chairmanship


Senator Sani Musa

The lawmaker representing Niger East Senatorial District of Niger State, Senator Sani Musa, has declared his intention to vie for the national chairmanship position of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

In a speech delivered in Minna during an interaction with the media, Musa, who is serving his first term in the Senate, said he would reposition the ruling party if elected as chairman during the forthcoming national convention.

The lawmaker said his decision to join the national chairmanship race was inspired by his desire to give members of the party good representation as well as to help actualise the clamour for generational change in the political leadership of the country.


“I want to bring a new vision and new direction in the running of APC, to make it the most acceptable platform that will continue to foster democratic tenets for constructive development and governance.

“My major focus, if elected as the national chairman of the ruling party, would be to entrench internal democracy and make the platform the toast for all Nigerians once again,” he said.

He said the condition for becoming the national chairman of APC should not be based on having served as a former governor, adding that the important criteria should be the personality’s capability and political sagacity to manage the complexities of a big party like the APC. Musa said he possesses those qualities and had also demonstrated them in several positions he had held in the past and also holds at the moment.

According to him, “my aspiration is backed by the majority of the members of the National Assembly, especially senators and many APC governors and with their support, I will emerge as the next national chairman of APC.”

He also said he has made his intention known to Governor Abubakar Sani Bello and other stakeholders in Niger State. “I have informed all the major stakeholders of the party in my state, and I have their support,” he said.

Other known aspirants jostling for the national chairmanship position of the party include Tanko Al Makura (Nasarawa State), Danjuma Goje (Gombe State), Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa State), Ali Modu Sheriff (Borno State) and Abdulazeez Yari (Zamfara State).


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet