Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Delta sets up committee to identify undeveloped plots in Asaba




The Delta State Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Development, Sir Dan Okenyi, has set up a committee to identify undeveloped plots of land earlier allocated to individuals and organisations in the metropolitan area of Asaba, Delta State capital.

The committee, headed by Mr. Alex Eboka, will identify plots that were yet to be developed by their owners two years or more after the allocation.

The exercise was necessitated by the prevalence of undeveloped plots of land some of which were allocated for upwards of five years and duly issued with Certificates of Occupancy (CofO).

In setting up the committee, which will be inaugurated today, December 7, 2015, Chief Okenyi noted that some of the beneficiaries are engaging in land speculation without any intention to develop the property.

Besides, some of the lands are posing security challenges as hoodlums have turned them into their operational base. The undeveloped plots have also become unsightly and negate government’s desire of making Asaba one of the fastest developing state capitals in the country”< he lamented, noting that plots of lands that were merely fenced by their owners will be classified as undeveloped as a fence is considered a temporary structure that could be demolished with or without notice.

Under the terms for the issuance of the Certificates of Occupancy, the plots were supposed to be developed within two years.
Other members of the committee are Messrs O. Kumare (secretary), Pius Okughu, Moses Ojor, Patrick Ebikpade, Oghenovo Defiagbon, John Jibunor, Chuks Obianuko and Kennedy Okoh. The rest are Ngozi Odiaka, Emmanuel Oguda, Kanayo Atalor, Uche Nwulu, Obiajura Henry Ehiobu, Paul Onelum and Morgan Otoboh.
The committee is expected to submit its report within two months from the date of inauguration.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet