The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Olu of Warri, Uduaghan, Okowa, Others Storm Warri For Olu Akengbuwa


Olu akengbuaTHE Olu of Warri, His Majesty, Ogiame Atuwatse II, CON, outgoing Governor of Delta State, Dr. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan, CON and the state’s governor-elect, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, are among top dignitaries that will converge on Warri on Friday, May 1, to watch a command performance of the stage play, Olu Akengbuwa, produced and directed by award-winning filmmaker, Comrade Alex Eyengho.

The play is part of activities lined up for the 28th anniversary of the coronation of Ogiame Atuwatse II scheduled to hold at the main hall, Federal Government College, Warri, Delta State.

Notable actors of Nollywood and the stage such as, Nobert Young, Ejike Asiegbu, Peter Fatomilola, Soibifaa Dokubo, Eliel Otote, Teejay Morgan, Stephen Osezua, Williams Ekpo, Efe Mayford-Orhorha and Lanre Falana will perform in the play.

In a statement issued earlier in the week, Eyengho pointed out that the play, which would be preceded by a red carpet ceremony, is the first of its kind in the activities marking the yearly anniversary of the coronation of the Olu of Warri.

“I am very upbeat about this play. It is actually a project titled, Warri Monarchs’ Play Series. The concept is that at the yearly anniversary event, we will stage a world-class play about the story of any of the past 18 Olus of Warri, who reigned in the kingdom, with a view to informing, educating and entertaining the teeming guests about the historical trajectory of the Itsekiri people and their monarchical system. The first in the series is the story of Olu Akengbuwa, the 16th Olu of Warri who reigned between 1795 and 1848 AD,” Eyengho stated.

On why he decided to start the series with the 16th Olu of Warri, and not any of the first 15, Eyengho, who is also the president of Association of Nollywood Core Producers (ANCOP), explained: “It is for a strategic reason. Olu Akengbuwa was the last Olu of Warri before the 88 years and only interregnum in Warri Kingdom till date. For 88 years, the Itsekiri people had no king and this was what led to the British imperialists installing one governor or the other in the Kingdom until the interregnum ended in 1936, with the coronation of His Majesty, Ginuwa II, Emiko Ikenbuwa as the 17th Olu of Warri. It is instructive to point out that the reigning Olu of Warri, His Majesty, Ogiame Atuwatse II, has given his blessings, endorsement and approval for the project to become an integral part of programme of events for the yearly anniversary of his coronation.”

Eyengho also disclosed that a few persons and organizations that have contributed positively to the creative/entertainment industry in Itsekiriland and Nigeria generally would receive maiden awards of ‘The Itsekiri Awards For Excellence (TIAFE)’. These include Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan, Pa J.O.S. Ayomike, Mr. Sam Amuka-Pemu, Barr. Fred Agbeyegbe, Mr. Aboyowa Ikomi, Hon. Justice (Mrs.) Roli Harriman, Mr. Emmanuel Etsede (aka Agomi) and Chief (Madam) Onesanden Enonuwaewu (aka Ugbogboebebe) and others.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet