Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

24 teams to compete for DAFF championship in Oyo


The maiden edition of the Dominic Akinjide Fagbemi Foundation (DAFF) female championship will see 24 teams battle for honours fixed for next month, February 23 to 28, at the Ibarapa Central, Igboora Oyo State.

The championship, which is supported by the Females Football Academy Proprietors (FEFAP), will be held at the Ogboja Grammar School Field, Igbo-Ora in Oyo State.
Cash prizes and medals will be presented to the eventual winner, first and second runners up and opportunities to improve their football career.

According to the coordinator, Owolabi Samod Kehinde, the 24 teams will include 16 teams from the Women Accredited Football Association (WAFA) and eight other local teams from the community, adding that teams are expected to arrive on February 22, the same day draw will be made and free accommodation provided.

Kehinde, who is also the coach of Almighty Talent Sport Academy, stated that the competition is being organised in remembrance of the father of Dominic, Chief Noah Fagbemi, with the aim of bringing awareness of female participation in football to the community.

He added that the event would also boost grassroots female football, as the foundation aims at merging education with sports together in order to help girls in the community through scholarship and some other educational benefits.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet