Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

27 teams set for ‘My Anambra Football Super Eight’ draws


PHOTO: Pixabay

The draws for the maiden edition of ‘My Anambra Football Super Eight’ tournament has thrown up some interesting ties with 27 teams from across the state ready for the soccer competition.

The championship is the baby of Anambra State Football Association (ANSFA), which held the draws for the zonal Playoffs at the weekend at the association’s secretariat in Awka.

According to a member of the organising Committee, Ralph Chidozie George, who is also an ANSFA board member, 27 teams participated in the draws of the grassroots competition bankrolled by Aspire FC Adazi Ani.


At the draws conducted by the Chairman of the organising committee, Oliver Ndigwe, who is also a member of the ANSFA board, alongside ANSFA secretary, Chijioke Onyedika, teams from Anambra South, Anambra North and Anambra Central will participate in the zonal play-offs to produce sides for the main Super Eight competition.

The participating clubs are expected to submit their players’ licence on or before 4.00 pm tomorrow, the organisers said, adding: “To ensure that all players go into the competition with clean bill of health, the sponsors have ensured free medical examination participating clubs.”

The organisers disclosed that players from Anambra Central would be examined on Wednesday, January 27 at the Alex Ekwueme Square, Awka with that of Anambra North holding on Thursday, January 28 at Otuocha Stadium Otuocha, while Anambra South teams will take their turn on Friday, January 29 at Ekwulobia Township Stadium Ekwulobia.

According to the draws, the zonal playoff will hold from February 1 to 3, 2021 at designated centres in the three zones.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet