The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

At 30, NWFL rebrands, unveils new logo


Africa’s pioneer women football league, the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) yesterday unveiled a new logo as well as renamed the three tiers of the competition under the body.

At the event held in Lagos, NWFL Chairperson, Aisha Falode explained that: “With our re-branding, the Nigeria Women Premier League will now be known as the NWFL Premiership, while the NWFL Pro-League now becomes the NWFL Championship and the NWFL Amateur League is now NWFL Nationwide.

“Today, our drive and entrepreneurship spirit has led us to re-imagine how we want to tell our story. So we are taking the opportunity to evolve our brands, as we move up into an exciting future and to tell the world we are purposeful, passion driven, stable progressive and to say we are united than ever.


“Since 1990, women’s football in Nigeria has grown from strength to strength.”

Falode drew from the achievements of Nigeria in women football and the caliber of players that have graced the sport to argue that given enough support the country compete favourably with the best teams from across the world.

“When you see how proud our women have made us globally today, from the five World Cup appearance legend Onome Ebi to the goal scoring machine Asisat Oshoala to the youngest and safest hands Chiamaka Nnandozie who recently joined Paris FC, you understand why we have been crowned 11 times African Champions.


In this article:
Aisha FalodeNWFL
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet