The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Eagles open camp for Pharaohs


The Super Eagles

The Super Eagles

• NFF proud of Nigeria Pitch Award, says Ikpeme

The Super Eagles will open their training camp for the two crucial AFCON 2017 qualifiers against Pharaohs of Egypt on Sunday with players from the domestic league, officials have informed

The camp will open in Abuja before it moves to Kaduna, where Nigeria will welcome seven-time champions Egypt on March 25, before they fly out to the reverse clash in Alexandria on March 29 night.

Nigeria is expected to announce a squad made up of players from the home league and foreign pros today after a deliberation by the technical committee.

NFF technical director Shuaibu Amodu met with caretaker coaches Samson Siasia and Salisu Yusuf on Tuesday in Abuja to draw up a squad list.

Emmanuel Amuneke, the third member in the Eagles consortium of coaches, was not present as he was back at his base in Spain.

Meanwhile, the NFF has praised organisers of the annual Nigeria Pitch Awards for ‘excellent job’ so far.

Speaking in Lagos yesterday, the Deputy Secretary General of the NFF, Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme said that the organisers, SIAO partners, had done a great job.

The Managing Director of SIAO partners, one of Nigeria’s most promising indigenous audit firms, Pastor Ituah Ighodalo, said that it was a delight for his firm to be associated with ‘this noble project’ initiated by the Matchmakers consult International and endorsed and supported by the NFF.

Our association with the Nigeria Pitch Awards is premised on the fact the award creates a standard by which talent and commitment can be measured in football,” Ighodalo said. He stated that the 2015 edition had so far been a hugely more successful endeavor. “Unlike the 2014 edition when we struggled to achieve 70% return of forms, this year, we have 81 per cent of forms duly filled and returned.”

Those nominated for the Goal Keeper of the Year are:
Carl Iheme – WolverHampton Wanderes, Vincent Enyeama–Lille FC, Femi Thomas-Enyimba FC and Ikechukwu Ezenwa-Sunshine FC.

The nominees for Defender of the Year are: Chima Akas-Rivers FC, Chinedu Udoji-Eyimba FC, Efe Ambrose-Celtic FC and Austin Oboroakpo-Abia Warriors FC.

Midfielder of the Year has Ogenyi Onazi-Lazio FC,
Oghenekaro Etebo-Warri Wolves, Paul Onobi-Sunshine FC and John Obi Mikel -Chelsea FC as contenders.

Striker of the Year has Gholahan Salami-Warri Wolves,
Odion Ighalo-Watford FC, Chisom Chikatara-Abia Warriors FC and Victor Osimhen-Wolfsburg FC.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet