Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Falcons battle Senegal or Guinea in Cameroun 2016 AWC qualifiers




Defending champions, Super Falcons of Nigeria, will not participate in the first round qualifiers for the 2016 African Women Championship (AWC), which will take place in Cameroun.

It will be the first time Cameroun will be hosting the AWC since it began in 1998. Nigeria has hosted the AWC twice in 1998, 2002 and 2006, while South Africa also hosted it three times in the year 2000, 2004 and 2012. Equatorial Guinea hosted it in 2008 and 2010, while Namibia hosted the last edition in 2014.

The Falcons, who won their seventh title at Namibia 2014, will wait till April next year, when they will face the winner of the first round fixtures between Senegal and Guinea.
Also drawn bye in the first round fixtures are Ghana, Equatorial Guinea, South Africa and Cote d’Ivoire.
According to the fixtures released by CAF yesterday, Mali will trade tackles with Morocco in the weekend of March 4, 5 and 6, 2016 with the reversed fixtures scheduled for March 18th, 19th and 20th.

It will be Tanzania against Zimbabwe, Zambia versus Namibia, Libya against Egypt and Algeria versus Togo. Other fixtures are Kenya versus RD Congo, Senegal against Guinea, Burkina Faso versus Tunisia and Botswana against Mauritius.

The first leg of the second round fixtures will hold in the weekend of April 8th, 9th and 10th, while the second leg will take place two weeks later.

The Falcons finished poorly in their last assignment in Congo Brazzaville, where they fail to win a single medal in the All African Games. The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) is still chopping for a new coach to replace Edwin Okon, who was sent packing after the team’s poor performance at Canada 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet