Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

France join elite class of multiple Davis Cup winners


France’s team hold the trophy after winning the Davis Cup World Group final tennis match between France and Belgium at The Pierre Mauroy Stadium in Villeneuve d’Ascq near Lille on November 26, 2017. Denis Charlet / AFP

France defeated Belgium 3-2 to lift the 2017 Davis Cup in a final showdown in Lille. By the victory, achieved on home ground, France joined the elite list of nations, who have won the trophy 10 times or more. The contest went all the way to a deciding fifth match on the last of the three-day event.

On the opening day, Belgium won the first match when David Goffin defeated Lucas Pouille 7/5; 6/3; 6/1. The veteran campaigner Joe Wilfried-Tsonga leveled the score by defeating Steve Darcis 6/3; 6/2; 6/1.

On the second day, the crucial doubles match became the star contest of the final. The French pair of Richard Gasquet and Pierre Hughes-Herbert won the first set 6/1. The Belgian pair of Bemelmans and Joris de Loore got an early break of serve and held on to take the second set 6/3. In the third set, although the Belgians got the first game on break of serve, they were broken back while serving for the match at 5-3. The French pair held to level and won the subsequent tie-break by seven points to two.


In the fourth set, the Belgians won the first game on break of their opponents serve but could not consolidate. The French pair secured a break to take the seventh game and proceeded to win the set 6-4. The French team had a 2-1 lead into the third day.

In the first reverse singles match, world number seven, David Goffin proved his ranking in defeating Joe-Wilfried Tsonga (eorld number 15) 7/6 (5); 6/3; 6/2 to level the contest. In the deciding fifth match, ranking prevailed once more as Lucas Pouille (number 18) defeated the 76th ranked Steve Darcis 6/3; 6/2; 6/1 to give France the victory.

In the semifinals, Belgium defeated Australia 3-2, while France defeated Serbia 3-1. The powerful American team had been defeated by their archrivals in Davis Cup, Australia in the quarterfinals.

France won their ninth Davis Cup in 2001 and had been in 18 Cup Finals in the 106 year history of the competition. The United States of America leads the list of winners and is closely followed by Australia.

The Davis Cup is the Nations World Cup for Mens Tennis. Member nations of the International Tennis Federation inaugurated the Federation Cup for women.

At the start of their professional careers, Venus and Serena Williams declined to play for the United States because their religious sect did not permit carrying the national flag. That has changed. Wealth and fame shattered the constraint of dogmatic sectarianism. Was this a fulfillment of the words of Thomas Jefferson, one of their nationís founding fathers? The third President of the United States wrote that all attempts to influence the human mind (created free by God) are a departure from the Will of God.

The 2017 Davis Cup has been won by the nation that emphasized the concepts of liberte, fraternite and egalite to humanity.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet