Wednesday, 7th December 2022
Breaking News:

NFF electoral committee to announce eligible candidates today

By Christian Okpara
12 September 2022   |   3:30 am
The list of candidates eligible to participate in the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) elections, billed to hold in Benin on September 30, will be released by the electoral committee today

Pinnick. Photo: SPORTSHINDU

List to be published Sept. 19

The list of candidates eligible to participate in the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) elections, billed to hold in Benin on September 30, will be released by the electoral committee today, the body has said.

The NFF elections will usher in a new president and board members of the Federation, who will lead Nigerian football for the next four years.

Incumbent NFF President, Amaju Pinnick, is not in the contest having spent two terms as boss of the body.

The electoral process began on August 29 with the sales of nomination forms, endorsements and return of forms. It lasted till September 8, while screening of candidates was held on September 9 and 10.

According to the electoral committee, contestants and other members of the public, who have anything against any of the candidates or the process, have between today and September 15 to file their complaints, while hearing of the appeals will hold on September 16 and 17.

The final list of the successful candidates will be released on September 19, while successful candidates are expected to commence their campaign on September 20 and end by midnight on September 22, ahead of the elections billed for September 30.

The NFF Electoral Committee is headed by Aikhunegire Anthony Malik, with Justice Abdulkadir Zakariyya as Vice Chairman.

Other members of the committee are Babatunde Ogala, Daha Umar Daura-Danburam and Gambo Mamman, while Ifeanyi Dike and Ransom Ariyo are alternate members.

In the Appeals Committee are Gandi Umar (Chairman); Ayo Akindele (Vice Chairman) and Rev. Obioma Onyeaghala (Member), with Chive Kaave and Idi Halidu Ali as alternate members.

The aspirants were expected to have paid various amounts of money to collect their nomination forms and returned to the body on or before September 8.

Nomination forms for those vying for the NFF presidency cost N500, 000, while forms for the first vice presidency cost N400, 000.

For the Chairman of Chairmen, candidates paid N350, 000, while those interested in joining the NFF’s Executive Committee paid N300, 000.

Among those vying to succeed Pinnick are NFF’s incumbent first and second vice presidents, Seyi Akinwunmi and Shehu Dikko respectively and Ibrahim Gusau, who serves as the Chairman of Chairmen.

Others are UK-based football scout, David Doherty; Christian Emeruwa (PhD), who is currently Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) current Head of Safety and Security, as well as FIFA’s Senior Safety and Security Officer; former chairman of Kano Pillars Football Club, Abba Yola; ex-NFF board member, who is current chairman, Imo State FA, Amanze Uchegbulam; and a former secretary general of the NFF, Musa Ahmadu.

Former Arsenal soccer school coach, Anyanwu Marcello, who is currently the Head scout and consultant of Gulf United Football in Dubai; Mainasara Ilo, who once served as a FIFA U-17 LOC chief executive officer, and former Super Eagles stars, Idah Peterside, Ben Akwuegbu and Jonathan Akpoborie, are also in the race to replace Pinnick.

Chairperson the Nigerian Women Football League (NWFL), Aisha Falode, and former international, Karibe Ojigwe, who is currently Abia State’s Commissioner for Sports, are among candidates vying to become members of the executive committee.