Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Olivier Giroud wins FIFA goal award


Arsenal’s French striker Olivier Giroud  won the Puskas Award for the best goal of 2017 at a star-studded FIFA awards ceremony in London on Monday.

The France striker received the award named in honour of Hungary great Ferenc Puskas for a spectacular ‘scorpion-kick’ against Crystal Palace in January.

“I’m delighted to receive this trophy today in front of legends of football,” said Giroud.


The Frenchman’s flicked volley with his left foot that went in off the crossbar won ahead of goals from Venezuela’s Deyna Castellanos, 18, and South African goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet