Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

McIlroy wins European award




RORY McIlroy has been named the European Tour’s Golfer of the Year for the third time in four seasons after retaining his position as European No 1.

The world No 3 topped the Race to Dubai standings for the second year running after winning the season-ending DP World

Tour Championship in Dubai, his third European Tour title during an injury-affected 2015.

McIlroy, who also won the Omega Dubai Desert Classic and WGC-Cadillac Match Play before an ankle injury saw him miss two months of the season, became the first player since Padraig Harrington in 2008 to top the standings in consecutive years.

The Northern Irishman was given an exemption by the European Tour to feature in the Final Series despite playing fewer than the minimum of 13 events, but managed to post eight top-10s from 12 starts during another impressive campaign. 

“It is a huge honour for me to be named European Tour Golfer of the Year again,” McIlroy said. “I feel very proud to have won this prestigious award for the third time – it is always special, no matter how often, to be recognised this way.

“After a good first half to the season, the injury was obviously a setback for me, so to finish the year strongly with my second victory in Dubai – plus picking up the Race to Dubai title again – was very satisfying.

“This was an objective I successfully fulfilled this season. To now win the Golfer of the Year award, too, is a great way to sign off the year. I am already looking forward to starting the new season and trying to achieve even more in 2016.”

•Culled from

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet