Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Pinnick, Maigari, Ogunjobi battle for NFF Presidency


[FILE PHOTO] Amaju Pinnick. PHOTO: BBC

The coast is now clear with regards to the September 20 elections into the Nigeria Football Federation’s (NFF) Executive Committee 2018 to 2022, following the official release of the list of candidates for the polls by the Electoral Committee yesterday.
Four persons are battling for the presidency, including incumbent Amaju Melvin Pinnick, who is also the 1st Vice President of CAF, Member of the Organizing Committee for FIFA Competitions and President of AFCON.
Pinnick, a former Chairman of the Delta State Football Association and Executive Chairman of the Delta State Commission, is the highest–placed Nigerian ever in football’s boardroom globally, and has a very useful cordial relationship with world football’s top hierarchy.


His Board also holds the ace of a blossoming positive appreciation by Corporate Nigeria that has galvanized considerable private sector funding of NFF’s activities.
There is also Alhaji Aminu Maigari, immediate past President of NFF, who was for several years Chairman of the Bauchi State Football Association and also headed the Bauchi sub–seat for the FIFA U17 World Cup that Nigeria hosted nine years ago.
Chief Taiwo Ogunjobi, former Nigeria international defender, also has his hat in the ring.

Ogunjobi captained and administered one of Nigeria’s traditional powerhouse clubs, Shooting Stars of Ibadan, served as Secretary General of then Nigeria Football Association (2002 to 2005) and was Member of the NFF Executive Committee 2006 to 2010.

He is currently Chairman of the Osun State Football Association.
There is also Mr. Chinedu Okoye, proprietor of amateur league club, Bimo FC.

For the First Vice President’s position, there are two candidates. The incumbent, Seyi Akinwunmi, whose stock has risen steeply as a result of his passion, commitment and investment in youth football development and charity, slugs it out with another South West chieftain, Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi.
Incumbent, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau will battle club proprietor, Dr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah for the slot of Chairman of Chairmen on the board.
For other positions on the Executive Committee, Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa, a member of the present board, is the only candidate from the North West.

The battle in the North Central has been somewhat narrowed with the withdrawal of FCT FA chairman, Musa Talle.

However, Alhaji Ahmed Yusuf ‘Fresh’ and Honourable Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande, ranking members of the board, have to contend with Alhaji Busari Ishola, chairman of Kwara State FA.
Similarly, incumbents, Babagana Kalli and Musa Duhu from the North East have to contend with Farouk Yarma Adamu.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet