Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Townsend’s volley against Man City nominated for 2019 Puskas Award


Andy Townsend’s unstoppable volley against Manchester City during an English Premier League game in December has been nominated among the 10 contenders for the 2019 Puskas Award.

Mohammed Salah won the Puskas Award, which is handed to the player with the best goal of a given season, in 2018. According to FIFA, the voting is open until September 1.Also nominated for the award are Matheus Cunha of RB Leipzig,
Zlatan Ibrahimović of LA Galaxy, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, Ajara Nchout of Cameroun’s women national team, Fabio Quagliarella of Sampdoria and Juan Fernando Quintero of River Plate.

Also in the running are Amy Rodriguez of Utah Royals, Billie Simpson of Cliftonville Ladies FC, and Dániel Zsóri of Debrecen FC.FIFA said the top three goals selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award.

According to FIFA, “each member of the public, who is registered on is entitled to cast one (1) vote. “The Award is bestowed upon the player whose goal was chosen by the panel of FIFA Legends from the three-goal shortlist that received the highest number of votes from fans registered on during the voting process.”


In this article:
Andy Townsend
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet