Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Yaya, Aubameyang, Ayew, shortlisted for African Player of the Year




MANCHESTER City star Yaya Touré, Swansea midfielder André Ayew and Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have been shortlisted for the 2015 African Player of the Year award.

The Côte d’Ivoire international, who led the Elephants to continental glory at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea last February, is chasing a fifth consecutive African crown, while the Ghanaian and the Gabonese have never won the prestigious award.

“The trio was unveiled at a press conference attended by CAF Executive member Anjorin Moucharafou and Glo representatives on Monday, December 14, 2015 in Abuja, Nigeria,” CAF stated on their official website.

“The winner to be decided by votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF ‎will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala on January 7, 2016.”

TP Mazembe duo Robert Kidiaba and Mbwana Samatta and Etoile du Sahel striker Baghdad Bounedjah will compete for the African Player of the Year-Based in Africa award.

• Culled from

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet